Once Again Pondering The Beard…

hip richie

This is how I’d Love, Love, Love to see a young Kenneth. *fans self*

Yeah wow… back in fangirl mode… just like that! So with Richard’s upcoming role as Kenneth in the off-Broadway Roundabout Theatre Company production of Love, Love, Love… we know that the script begins in 1967 or thereabout, with Kenneth as a young 20-something, and progresses through several acts as the character ages into a baby boomer with adult children of his own.

So I’m wondering if the beard will be absent, since it seems like maybe he’d look a little younger without it in the early act? And pondering his 1960’s look, I’m sure the costume will have a hippie vibe, but will he wear a wig of some kind for that younger, long-haired Sixties look?

I kind of hope he won’t have the beard… not in any way a beard hater, but just that his Proctor character had a beard, and as I was lucky enough to see him in the flesh (and found Himself-Bearded very mouth-watering, I might add!)… well, I’d really rather have a closer look at his clean-shaven lips, this time. #fangirlconsiderations

mouth

Yes, I need to see this up a little closer.

Like this.

 

 

 

 

 

 

scruffyOr his slightly scruffy and stubbled lips… I’m not really picky.

 

 

 

 

 

 

beard problem

My favorite stage door photo… yeah, I could probably work myself up to seeing this again.

But if the character of Kenneth DOES have a beard… well… that’s a problem I guess I’d love to have.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

anson mount

Dayum

Speaking of beards, and scruff, and long hair, and hot men with blue-grey eyes, I disappeared into one of those “show-holes” the past few weeks watching the AMC series Hell On Wheels, a drama series following the building of the transcontinental railroad. I confess, I have been Seriously Distracted by this series- not only is it an interesting time period, with clashing cultures between Union and ex-Confederate soldiers, freedmen (former slaves), Native Americans, and later in the series, Chinese immigrants… it’s a really good story with characters I love and hate and love to hate… and, well, there’s Cullen Bohannon, played by the seriously gorgeous and basically entirely heavenly Anson Mount. Take a look.

 

 

Cullen Bohannon

Am I right?

And as Cullen Bohannon? Ye gods.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Er, anyway… that was a little off topic. But just to, you know, emphasize that I DO like a man in a beard. But back to Richard Armitage.

tumblr_niqldzjJ7l1rpkcfuo1_500

I. Would. Die. (Happily)

Top hope for Love, Love, Love? I have to say it would look something like this… longer hair, a little scruffy, and no beard. Is it too much to wish for?

23 comments

  1. Servetus · July 13

    In the script, anyway, Kenneth spends the first act in a dressing gown. I could see him with a little scruff, though 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • jholland · July 13

      Oooh! That may be a reason to celebrate. Not what I was expecting… kind of hoped for bell bottoms… but wow. A closer look at the legs?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Servetus · July 13

        In interest of not spoiling you … I’ll stop here.

        Like

        • jholland · July 14

          I’m so tempted now to read the script. If only to see if the dressing gown comes off. =)

          Like

  2. Tessa · July 13

    I have ticket for Love love love and cannot wait, we bought them weeks ago and kept our fingers crossed for confirmation of RA’s role…***Happydance……And Anson Mount? Dear lordy me that man is ruggedly handsome and I love the show, well done all around……Counting the weeks until we can see “The Man” himself on the NYC stage…..Al we need is LOVELOVELOVE

    Like

    • jholland · July 14

      Oh, no doubt… ruggedly handsome describes Anson Mount to a tee. (I confess I greatly prefer him all scruffy for the role of Cullen Bohannon, compared to his clean cut appearance in RL!) But from episode one he had me hooked and wondering “all my life, where have you been?” LOL

      So happy for you that you’ve secured tickets… sheesh it’s been a long wait for those of us who took that gamble! I really thought it would only be a matter of days before the casting was announced, so it was torture and a lot of second-guessing as the weeks rolled on!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Teuchter · July 13

    That last picture is one of my favourite “looks” on Richard. Makes him look RAther boyish but stunningly handsome at the same time! Just check out the way his shirt strains across his chest *sigh*

    Like

    • jholland · July 14

      Hi Teuchter! Everything about that photo is divine. I love his casual amusement and his sort of effortlessly masculine stance. It’s not only a favorite look, it’s a favorite photo all around!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Teuchter · July 14

        I totally agree with your whole statement!! He’s just standing there – but WOW!!! How does he do that???

        Like

        • jholland · July 15

          I don’t know what he has, but he has it in spades! lol

          Liked by 1 person

  4. CraMERRY · July 13

    I have to say: a beard is ALWAYS a fantastic topic to blog about😃 And yes, Anson Mount is really WOW!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jholland · July 14

      Wow, for sure! Have you watched Hell On Wheels? It’s in the final season with 2 episodes to go. I’m all caught up after marathon viewing, and really sad to know it’s almost over. However, I think Hubby would like the series, so I do have the pleasurable anticipation of a re-watch. (With or without Hubby, actually!) lol

      Like

      • CraMERRY · July 14

        No it’s only released here on Pay-TV. But it seems to be, that this MAN is always worth a rewatch, I’m sure 😃 And btw, I’m a marathon-viewer too.

        Like

        • jholland · July 14

          Binge-watching is really so pleasurable. And then, to have to wait a week between episodes when finally caught up is it’s own kind of Hell! LOL! I do tend to binge-watch, but rarely to the extent that I devoured this one- up until 3am with my Netflix phone app on work nights a few times! (My neglected blog another indicator!)

          Like

        • CraMERRY · July 14

          I had binge-watching-sessions with Suits (aaah, this blonde, sweet Gabriel Macht) and Game of Thrones with Nikolaj Coster-Waldau (this -also blonde- incestuous hellion Jamie Lannister). 😎👍

          Like

        • jholland · July 15

          I’ll have to check out Suits… never seen that! And I could see GoT being binge-worthy but we have been watching it since the beginning. Hard to wait between episodes!

          Like

        • CraMERRY · July 15

          Ok, check it out and tell me later… 😉 Only 9 weeks left 😎

          Like

  5. linnetmoss · July 14

    I think you can count on the longish hair if it starts in 1967. But how will they be able to represent changing hairstyles through the decades? Will he have to wear a wig in the beginning? (hee, hee)

    Like

    • jholland · July 14

      A wig… that was my thought, though without reading the script it’s hard to predict. I guess maybe whatever career Kenneth transitions into may dictate whether they can get away with longer hair in the later acts. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Esther · July 18

    Longer hair and scruff – yep, I dig that!
    As for that other guy you mention – hmm, I might need to go take a peek now at that series… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gratiana Lovelace · July 28

      Definitely musing about longer hair and stubbly beard for Richard as Kenneth. Sighhh!

      Like

Leave a Reply

