Giffing Berlin Station, or… PreoccupiedOnceAgain?

Confession: I have not been overly PreoccupiedWithArmitage for months. Now, that’s not to say that I didn’t jump in and arrange to see Love, Love, Love before Love, Love, Love was even guaranteed… or that I didn’t immediately follow Richard when he made the jumps to Instagram and Facebook… and it’s not to say that I don’t still keep tabs on the Richarding world… but as anyone checking the blog this summer can attest, I just haven’t had any bloggerly motivation. Granted, it’s been a busy summer at work and I continue to spend much of my free time in the quilting room… but I really haven’t wanted or needed to express myself here in this space for quite some time.  I have hopes, at least, that my flagging fandom energy will be revived shortly, between Berlin Station airing in a couple of months, and Richard’s performances off Broadway starting even sooner than that!

 

BS interview hands

There is some nice thumb action here.

Today I got around to watching the new promotional material for Berlin Station, and I was struck with what has become, lately, an unusual urge: to have a closer look and really study the man himself, and the man as Daniel Miller’s character. I really liked what I saw, and decided to put some of it on continuous loop… but sadly, it had been so long since I used my Giffing Tool, that I opened it up, captured some Richard… and then couldn’t remember even the first thing about how to edit it! After fumbling around for several fruitless minutes, I resorted to YouTube to relearn the giffing process… and I hope you enjoy the results. =)

 

 

BS calculations

So yeah… I experienced my first *ooof* after many months of no *ooofs* right here.

So the first thing that really made me sit up and take notice while watching the promotional footage was this shot. I absolutely love everything about it. I love the collar of his coat- he looks like a proper spy, here. I love the shadow of his cheek and jawline as he turns, and while I’m at it, I love the length of that sideburn! But what struck me the most was the moment of calculation on his face, the small furrow in his brow as he processes something, and seems to draw his breath, blinking. Moments like these are what I love most about Richard’s acting.

 

 

BS lips

And when I replayed it, damned if another *ooof* didn’t magically happen!

But I’m getting ahead of myself. Because the opening footage was actually rather breathtaking as well. Oh, how the light just barley glimmers on that fantastic mouth. And his nose, in all its profile glory, is also thrown into beautiful relief by the lighting. Last but not least… we have the briefest glimpse of Daniel’s downcast eye for a quick, but thorough, eyelashgasm.

 

 

BS blink

And the eyelashgasms keep coming…

BS danial turns

I like how the light briefly illuminates the tendons in his elegant hand.

And a couple more… because once I got started, it was hard to stop giffing.

 

 

 

BS climbI almost mistook this for Francis Dolarhyde. Maybe it’s the black gloves, or the fact that he’s rising out of a crouch as he steps onto the rooftop. Or maybe just the focused, almost sinister determination on his face.

 

 

BS paranoiaAnd that impression (along with another eyelashgasm) was only reinforced here. Because he seems to be skulking in a corridor, and he has a touch of paranoia in his eyes.

 

 

BS shrug and smileBut right here… this is no Francis Dolarhyde. More of a Lucas North vibe… a strong and charming one. I LOVE the little  quirk of his head as he shrugs. And I hope we’ll see more of those slightly conspiratorial smiles. Dayum.

 

 

BS smile1Speaking of smiles… here’s a bit of a lopsided smile as he hands her his ID. It was dark, so I lightened it to better see that dimple in action. Though I hate that the giffing tool only has one setting for the lightening effect.

 

 

BS startledAnd another one that I lightened. Just to see the smile again, and have a closer look at the funny startled face when Daniel is grabbed. Giffing is really rewarding sometimes.

 

 

BS crouchingAnd here was another rewarding moment. I guess I didn’t expect Daniel Miller to crouch behind another person’s back when shit starts to go down! But I suppose we were told he was more of an analyst. LOL

 

 

 

BS bike riderMake that a bike-riding analyst.

 

 

 

BS stridingStride 1But he certainly has some mojo in this shot. There’s that characteristic manly stride that I love so well. Reminds me just a bit of Thornton. With different sideburns, of course. But the stern intensity is there.

 

 

 

And that about wraps up my post for August! I really did enjoy getting back into the swing of actively Richarding… and we can hope that there is plenty more to come!

 

27 comments

  1. CraMERRY · August 17, 2016

    Very nice gif-crafting 😍

    Like

    • jholland · August 18, 2016

      Thank you! It was very enjoyable (once I remembered how!)

      Like

  2. Guylty · August 17, 2016

    Oh. Ah. Oh. There is so much goodness here. I have to come back for a proper comment. Now it’s just *thud*. Thanks for the gif love!

    Like

    • jholland · August 18, 2016

      You’re very welcome! I have to agree… this Daniel Miller is quite the hottie… =)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. SueBC · August 17, 2016

    Fabulous! Welcome back to the bloggerly mood! Loved the startled look as he was grabbed. And the eyelashgasms too. Just hoping we Canucks can see the series someway, somehow.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jholland · August 18, 2016

      Glad you enjoyed it! I feel like there has to be a way… I’ll keep my ear to the ground and let you know if I hear of anything. =)

      Like

  4. Teuchter · August 17, 2016

    😉 From one Canuck to to another Sue – my sentiments exactly! These gifs are wonderful! I know I’ll keep coming back to this post!! Such a treat to scroll down S L O W L Y – stopping to gape as each gif appeared! 🙂

    Like

    • jholland · August 18, 2016

      Thanks, Teuchter. Definitely a few that are very gape-worthy! lol

      Like

  5. linnetmoss · August 18, 2016

    Mmm, yummy. My favorite moment of these is the collar action with the wee frown. I have the same experience of learning how to do some tech thing and promptly forgetting it if I don’t reinforce it on a regular basis…

    Like

    • jholland · August 18, 2016

      My favorite, too! I would have thought that with all the many gifs I’ve made in the past, I’d have remembered. But sadly, that was not the case. LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  6. AnotherRAFan · August 18, 2016

    Welcome back. Have missed this blog and fantastic gifs. The first smile looked more like a smirk to me

    Like

    • jholland · August 25

      Thank you! Yes, there was a smirky element to that smile!

      Like

  7. Servetus · August 19, 2016

    Love the GIFs. I also felt from stuff we saw earlier that Armitage had gained some sort of slightly sinister quality after the Dolarhyde episode.

    Have to disagree re the smile, though; his stage smiles always look false to me and more than a little chipmunky. But he’s definitely a master of the other expressions.

    Like

  8. Andrea Númellóte · August 20, 2016

    Great gifs. I had to save them all! XD

    Like

  9. Esther · August 22, 2016

    Nice to have you back. Lovely GIFs!

    Like

  10. Perry · August 23

    Welcome back. It happens. And then it happens again. Great work on these gifs. I wonder if that skulking shot in the corridor is related to the still we saw when Daniel Miller put his hand over the young woman’s mouth? For some reason, I wonder whether this gif is just moments before, and he’s heard something in the hall?

    Like

    • jholland · August 25

      Oh, good thought. It could definitely be related. That, or Daniel Miller does more than a little skulking. I’d forgotten about that scene where he was restraining the woman.

      Like

  11. Gratiana Lovelace · August 23

    Great gifs and insights! I especially liked the Miller vs Thornton comparison! Cheers!

    Like

    • jholland · August 25

      Yes, well… when I was making that gif, I kept thinking “I’ve giffed this same determined stride before!”

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

