Looks Like It’ll Be Date Night in Hubby’s Classroom

dtplus1

Looks like I’ll get to watch not only the 16 minute interview, but the entire production in the very near future! The perks of marrying an educator… =)

After seeing what Servetus has been up to, it occurred to me that my own, darling Hubby happens to be a faculty member at an educational institution… so I did a quick search of the college library resources online, and scored! Turns out Hubby does, in fact, have access to Digital Theatre Plus, and when I asked him to log into the system, I came to the glorious page shown here. Of course it can only be streamed on campus (I tested the veracity of this, and sure enough, it didn’t recognize our home IP address), so it looks like we’ll be taking a classroom field trip in the near future. Hubby said it would be no problem to use his teaching classroom on a Saturday, when no classes are to be held, and he can put it up on his large screen teaching projector for us to watch together!!!

Have I ever said how much I adore my Hubby?

snowday1

Rosie gazes wistfully out the window at the snow-covered rural Oklahoma landscape. Yes, the daughter named the new cat Rosie. Just like the Mantis Shrimp. =)

Unfortunately, campus is closed today due to the snowy weather, so it may have to wait until next weekend.  Here in Oklahoma, pretty much everything shuts down at the lightest snow flurry, and even I must admit it’s coming down pretty hard right now. Here’s my view from this morning, and it’s added about an inch since then.

Makes for such a pretty sight. And I think the kiddos are almost as excited about the forthcoming snow activities as Mommy is about her incredibly fortunate opportunity to revisit Richard Armitage and The Crucible much earlier than anticipated. =)

19 comments

  1. Perry · February 28, 2015

    Lucky, lucky you. Congrats. ( well, you’d be just a bit luckier of there were no snow). It my be a long week for you.

    Like

    • jholland · February 28, 2015

      Yes, might be a long week, but there’ll be no complaining from me! Seriously, I feel like I’ve hit the jackpot! =)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jholland · February 28, 2015

    I should add, in case anyone wonders if this might be shady, that the university is very friendly to family members of faculty. Hubby’s spouse or children can take up to 12 credit hours per semester free of tuition, use the library, gym, swimming pool, attend theatrical performances, etc. So it’s on the up and up! =)

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Servetus · February 28, 2015

    Wow, I hadn’t thought of that, but I could definitely project it on a screen in a classroom after hours. Hmmmm. Great minds egg each other on, lol 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • jholland · February 28, 2015

      Oh, yes… Hubby did say I could come to his office or go to the library to watch it this week while he’s teaching class, but I’d rather wait until he can watch with me, and take advantage of the large screen! I’ve been eager to find out his reaction to it for many months now.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Servetus · February 28, 2015

    I think THAT is really cool.

    Like

  5. Hariclea · February 28, 2015

    well, aren’t you multiply lucky! 🙂 looking forward to hearing your thoughts

    Like

    • jholland · February 28, 2015

      Yes! I can’t believe it’s been right there under my nose and I wouldn’t have known about it. =)

      Like

  6. utepirat · March 1, 2015

    Not being able to attend the play live in London (I had an accident last summer and suppose the person who got my ticket in the first row was a happy one), I had the luck to watch it on the big screen in Germany. It was amazing ( I won’t add all the superlatives I could name), and I’m a lucky girl there’s a fellow friend who attended the play live several times and we regularly talk about (via phone) our personnel status of being preoccupied with Armitage.
    So, ‘enjoy’ the play on the screen, your hubby’s comforting arms around you when it comes to the haunting scenes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jholland · March 1, 2015

      Oh no! I’m sorry about your accident… that must have been so maddening and heartbreaking to have it happen right when you had front-row tickets to see RA. I’m glad you got to see it on the big screen, though, and have a RL friend who’s preoccupied. None of my RL circle is a fellow well-wisher. =)

      Like

      • Servetus · March 1, 2015

        You need to begin an Armitage Evangelism Initiative: https://feminema.wordpress.com/2012/03/11/my-life-evangelizing-for-north-south/

        Liked by 1 person

        • jholland · March 1, 2015

          Yes, I’ve convinced only 3 to watch it, and all agreed that Thornton was yummy, and all enjoyed it. But none fell into the same predicament I fell into when I watched it. =) I’ll keep trying.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Servetus · March 1, 2015

          Maybe you need to find some other friends … 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • jholland · March 1, 2015

          Lol… well, I’m not the most social of butterflies. Hubby is my best friend and we are pretty much hermits. Good thing I’m making friends online!

          Liked by 1 person

      • utepirat · March 1, 2015

        To clarify the case: I met her at the Berlin premiere of DOS in Dec. 2013, and she became a friend in real life, too.
        In my own surrounding there’s no one else, Mr. A is still almost unknown to the audience in Germany. Though my little brother Thomas still attends the whole Hobbit stuff, the movies etc. with me in original (I even forced him to watch VoD with me 😀). Not to forget ‘The Crucible’ on screen, he was not too embarassed watching my sighs at the very end.

        Liked by 1 person

        • jholland · March 1, 2015

          That’s great, both your luck meeting your friend at the DOS premiere, and having a little brother willing to attend with you. My little brother just mocks me! Lol

          Like

  7. linnetmoss · March 1, 2015

    Now I am curious about whether my institution has DT Plus. Worth checking… BTW I adore the cat/landscape photo!

    Like

    • jholland · March 1, 2015

      Hope it does! Cuts down on the indefinite waiting time considerably! LOL- she did escape when the dogs went outside, and came right back in as fast as she could. I assume she’s never actually been required to touch paws to snow!

      Liked by 1 person

      • linnetmoss · March 2, 2015

        That must have been quite a shock 🙂 Better to stay warm and cozy!

        Like

Leave a comment