DeRAnged Tendencies Alive and Well… in Greece!

deranged-in-athens

I have my Badge on display, Guylty! Overlooking Athens…

It’s been a crazy-wonderful several days, and my internal clock is certainly out-of-whack, because here I am wide awake at an unholy hour of dawn listening to the rain outside our hotel in Nafplion, Greece! This is almost like a second honeymoon for Hubby and me… our first vacation together without the kids, which means in over 8 years… and we are loving every minute of it! Which is kind of funny when I think that no kind of second honeymoon would have been planned if it weren’t for Richard Armitage… because we’re along for the ride with several other Armitagers and lead by Obscura on this amazing tour of Athens and the Peloponnese in southern Greece. Who says my Armitaging can’t benefit Hubby?

It’s all a bit of a blur now… the preparations for the trip… the detailed schedules I worked out for the grandparents, who are sharing custody of the kids and have accepted the gauntlet of keeping them fed, bathed, dressed, schooled and busy with after-school activities. Packing the kids, packing ourselves. Arranging for a relief veterinarian, duck-sitter, bills to be paid and payroll to be handled from across the globe… vacation is a lot of work! And I didn’t have to do any of the nitty-gritty planning for the tour itself, so hats off to Obscura who has made all the arrangements for our transit, schedule, dining, accommodations… =)

So last Wednesday night, after our last full day of work, we’d had a good-bye dinner with the kids, deposited them with my parents, dropped the pets off at the clinic, and done our last-minute packing. It was 11:30pm, and my alarm was set for 4:00am, giving me 4 1/2 hours of potential sleep… when BOOM, I finally looked at a Twitter notification from Richard Armitage and was astonished to see that the first 2 episodes of Berlin Station were available right then! Of course, I knew that I was going to be traveling across the globe in a few short hours… but could I resist clicking the link? Of course I couldn’t.

daniel-miller

Daniel Miller Screencap… looking as sexy as ever. Of course I got no sleep!

Just a few minutes of watching, I told myself. I’m too excited about Greece to fall asleep immediately anyway… 2 hours later I was not only too excited about Greece to fall asleep, but I had discovered that Berlin Station is entirely binge-watchable! Wow! Talk about a shocking opener! My internal dialogue was something like… “There he is! He’s so pretty… he’s so pretty… oh, man, he looks great in this… he’s so pretty… he’s so…. WHAT!?! Shitfuck! No! No way!”

Suffice it to say that I got exactly zero sleep after watching Berlin Station… something I knew I should regret, but now I’m hearing that people are no longer able to watch it, so I’m patting my deRAnged self on the back for having had no self-control or common sense whatsoever! LOL! I was hoping to revisit those episodes a number of times… because I don’t feel that with all the excitement and exhaustion that I really absorbed all that was available to absorb… but at least I’m not furious that I missed my chance entirely!

acropolis-selfie

Selfie with Hubby at the Acropolis! A dream come true for both of us. =)

Well, my alarm clock is about to go off and I’m looking forward to another full day with this guy (who is the only man on the tour other than our driver, Leonidas, and our amazing foodie local guide, George!) He’s having a blast, even being fully outnumbered!

Until next time, then… Cheers!

 

27 comments

  1. Servetus · September 10, 2016

    Glad to hear from you! (And I love that Richard Armitage got you your vacation, that’s hilarious!). Don’t worry about BSt, it has reappeared for those of us in the US.

    Like

    • jholland · September 12, 2016

      It is funny! Today Hubby was sitting back after another fabulous meal and said to tell RA “Thanks for Greece” when I see him in NYC. LOL

      Liked by 2 people

      • Servetus · September 12, 2016

        oooh! you foodies! That’s even funnier. Glad to hear things are going well.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. CraMERRY · September 10, 2016

    He’s so pretty… ๐Ÿ˜‚
    Have a good time and see you soon!!!! ๐Ÿ˜ƒโ˜€๏ธ

    Like

    • jholland · September 12, 2016

      Oh, it’s the best. We are having a blast, and only more good times to come!! Can’t wait!

      Like

  3. Guylty · September 11, 2016

    Lovely to hear from you and glad to see the badge in action inGreece!

    Like

    • jholland · September 12, 2016

      I was lucky you sent an extra because I changed purses at the last minute and went off without my original badge!!

      Like

      • Guylty · September 13, 2016

        Phew, that was lucky indeed ๐Ÿ˜€.

        Like

  4. linnetmoss · September 11, 2016

    Gorgeous acropolis photo! Have fun!

    Like

    • jholland · September 12, 2016

      We are having so much fun and continually amazed at the ancient sites just scattered everywhere. And I’ve thought of you often… the food is divine, and 80% of the dishes are vegetarian. Lovely!

      Liked by 1 person

      • linnetmoss · September 13, 2016

        Yes, lots of beautiful veggies! Enjoy!

        Like

        • jholland · September 13, 2016

          Oh, and cats! Everywhere are cats. Shops, restaurants, ancient ruins…

          Liked by 1 person

        • linnetmoss · September 13, 2016

          Ah, I wish they would figure out about spay/neuter… but the cats must be well fed or they could not reproduce so abundantly.

          Like

  5. linda60 · September 11, 2016

    Of course you got no sleep!!! Looking forward to that sleepless night myself, before flying to New York in November (even without a new episode of Berlin Station or something other RA related!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Lovely report though of what is going on. Wish you guys a wonderful holiday. Enjoy the fun and the food and have a happy time with all the others who will arrive soon !!

    Like

    • jholland · September 12, 2016

      Ear plugs, a scarf over the face… and off to sleep on the airplane! So glad you get the chance to see LLL! Can’t wait to meet the others in person! Already there are several lovely Armitagers on this tour, and it’s really fun chatting and comparing notes. =)

      Like

  6. Elanor · September 12, 2016

    Have a good time in Greece. Your Hubby is simple the best ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • jholland · September 12, 2016

      Thanks, Elanor! He’s having a great time. I am glad he’s able to fit into any and every group! LOL

      Like

  7. Perry · September 12, 2016

    Oh! This is so great. Keep us posted. Enjoy every minute. ( You couldn’t have a better tour guie/leader than Obscura – I am certain of that!) Also, you’re CLOSER TO BERLIN!

    Like

    • jholland · September 13, 2016

      She is fantastic and very laid back! Lots of information and funny stories to share. And she lets it slide when Hubby feels the need to stop, pet and have a photo-op with every cat he sees. =)

      Like

  8. Gratiana Lovelace · September 12, 2016

    Love this! Hope you have a great time!

    Like

  9. Esther · September 13, 2016

    Good for you for getting Berlin Station in before you left. I also had that ‘shitfuck’ moment. ๐Ÿ™‚
    And you’re in Greece now, how wonderful! So glad you’re having a good time and your hubby as well!

    Like

    • jholland · September 13, 2016

      Couldn’t believe it! I keep telling myself that he had enough life left in him to sort of smile… almost like a “ha! I got you” smile… and shot is not the same as dead. Surely in the middle of an op and with that many bystanders they can have medical attention arrive on the double! And oh, Greece has been just beautiful. The food, the scenery, the history… fabulous! It is a little bit bittersweet at times, seeing some abandoned buildings, or homeless people… but I keep telling myself that tourism is essential for their economy. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Hariclea · September 13, 2016

    Ti kanis? ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Ohh, Nafplion!!! It’s where my parents went the first time they went to Greece (geographically much closer ;))) I am so glad you and hubby are there and having a fab time! Lovely photos and i bet it is a blast, the sights, the food, everything! Looking forward to hearing and seeing much more about it when you get back ๐Ÿ™‚
    Have a blast!!!
    as to the other only had a peek on mobile, will catch up properly some time. The idea of Greece and wonderful memories very exciting ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • jholland · September 13, 2016

      Nafplion was great- wonderful shopping in Old Town. Iโ€™m kicking myself for not buying some stuff that I liked, because I didnโ€™t want to haul it around. But itโ€™s been several days and I have not seen the same artisanship! Now my motto isโ€ฆ if I see it and like it, Iโ€™ll buy it. LOL. Besidesโ€ฆ Hubby is along and has strong arms, right? =)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hariclea · September 14, 2016

        oh yes you must get something from there because it’s a wonderful trip you’ll want to remember with a token and it’s nice having original things to remind us of fab stuff we did ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

