Saturday Seems a Long Way Off…

Date night this weekend with Hubby… the final Hobbit installment at the I-MAX on Saturday evening! I’m usually content to see a major release like a Middle Earth film on opening weekend, rather than opening night. But this time is a little different. I’m PreoccupiedWithArmitage this time around. If it had been up to me, I’d have been at the very first screening available… for Richard’s sake. However, Hubby made that gesture of buying the tickets to cheer me up when I was at the hospital with our young love, and we want to see it together, and the shows that would work with my work schedule are sold out at this point, even if I did want to catch it earlier and spoil the Hubby gesture. So… I’ll just have to wait on pins and needles, continue to avoid spoilers and reviews, and get to the theatre in time to get a great position in the queue on Saturday.

Hubby said last night that they did it all backward… should have made the 3 Hobbit films first, then they could have probably stretched The LOTR series into 6, maybe 9 films. We’ve been married almost 13 years- our anniversary is next week. I remember we saw The Fellowship of the Ring on opening night, just days before our wedding… our treat to ourselves to celebrate my getting through finals and to provide a much-needed break from the hectic last-minute wedding preparations. We were young, and very much in love, and we were such dweebs… I’d ordered us some handmade hobbit cloaks, and we wore them to the theatre with pride! In subsequent years, the cloaks were packed away and forgotten, but they’re still there, in the cloak… er, coat closet. Much time has passed… I’m a small business owner and he’s the Professor and Director of Engineering in his department. We almost always see my clients and/or his students when we go to the movies on a big opening weekend.

Wonder what they’d make of us in those two cloaks if we brought them out… One Last Time?

5 comments

  1. Guylty · December 17, 2014

    Ah, what does it matter when you see the film? The fact that you are seeing it at all is what counts.
    Ha, and now we have it: You are uncloaked as a long-term Tolkien fan 😀 Well done!! (I saw only the first of the LotR trilogy in the cinema and caught up with the rest much later but well pre-Hobbit.)

    Like

    • jholland · December 17, 2014

      And so the cloak un-cloaked me… yes, we have been in the habit of queuing for Peter Jackson’s Middle Earth films for many years now. Sort of sad to think this will be the last time. =)

      Like

      • Guylty · December 17, 2014

        If it makes me sad – who has only been on half of the six-part journey – then it must be doubly so for you… Well, you know where you can unload 😉

        Like

  2. Servetus · December 24, 2014

    someday your children will find them and smile 🙂

    Like

    • jholland · December 26, 2014

      You’re right. Hadn’t thought of that. Mom and Dad really wore THESE? lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment