Richard Armitage, White-Shirted

2016b

I mean, who wouldn’t sit up and take notice?

It has been rather a long stretch since I posted anything remotely related to Richard Armitage. (In fact, you might almost wonder whether I was no longer preoccupiedwitharmitage!) And that’s a fair question, because if I’m honest, I do find it hard to be half so obsessive about the man when Nothing Much Is Happening. For all those who waited it out while he was off filming The Hobbit: kudos to you! I’m having a hard time of it with not much news on the Armitage front.

Have I lost interest entirely? Apparently not. But I do have to say it was an enormous relief the other day when Richard Armitage, White-Shirted, filming in the Canary Islands for Berlin Station, came across my radar.

So yes! Inspired! Finally!

I do believe I became quite breathless when first I saw the image above.

 

 

probablynotwhite

OK, so maybe it’s not absolutely a white shirt… but dayum. The man still has it.

And who could blame me? =)

 

With all the talk about how much Daniel reminds us all of Lucas North, I couldn’t help but think he also bears a bit of a resemblance to a different operative… one John Porter… in the image above.

 

Mmmmm hmmmm.

 

 

 

 

 

2016a

Aw, an eyebrow furrow! I’ve missed that!

This look really does it for me. There is just something about a man in a casual white button-down shirt.

 

With heavy stubble as a nice contrast.

 

(Perry even thought it was a beard from a distance!)

 

 

 

 

wet hair

Whew. The stubble, the knowing look in his eyes, the barest hint of a smile. And add wet hair into the mix? Stunning.

Yes, I think we can all agree that this man has always rocked the white shirt and heavy stubble.

*Excuse me while I dash water on myself*

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2016c

He looks pensive about something here. Inner conflict?

I confess… this type of shirt on a handsome man does make me want to unbutton it.

Hubby, I hope you’re not reading this… but if you are… take notes!

 

 

 

 

 

 

younger

Here’s a young one. Where has all his chest hair gone?

Yes, a white button-down shirt is just begging to be opened further.

Down to where one might stumble across a little chest hair, maybe.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

shirt open

No, seriously! I know he has chest hair!

Or a belly button.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

withdarkjeans

I wonder… why are you sitting on your hands?

We’d better get you buttoned back up, sir.

Before we all collapse.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

open_collar1

Wasn’t there a great hashtag for this on tumblr? Something along the lines of #acollarsituation ?

Maybe we should even add a coat.

I don’t believe I would have survived this look without that coat.

 

 

 

 

 

 

thekiss

Because I never tire of seeing this one moment.

I’m still not sure how Margaret was able to actually stand up and walk after this.

And the man was wearing his waistcoat.

 

 

 

 

esquire

Because… dayum.

And finally, well… there can’t be a compilation of Richard Armitage, White-Shirted that didn’t include this.

 

 

 

 

 

 

In fact, I think it never hurts to revisit this type of White Shirt Situation.

 

Or maybe it does hurt. But it hurts so good! =)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

64 comments

  1. CraMERRY · April 14, 2016

    Ok, I’m convinced you are still preoccupiedwitharmitage 😀 But you are right: it’s very tedious when nothing substantial is happening. My inner fangirl was slightly in hibernation until now 😀

    Like

    • jholland · April 14, 2016

      I know, right? I keep hoping to hear an announcement about a new project, or a release date for one of those movies that are continually in post-production… anything!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Elanor · April 14, 2016

    You made my day! Thank you very much – I needed such an encouragement urgently.
    Didn’t know this little video yet – “sigh”

    Like

    • jholland · April 14, 2016

      Oh, yes. I remember the day when that video was discovered. Resounding *THUDS* around the world!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. sparkhouse1 · April 14, 2016

    Very comprehensive, I applaud your fine work on the white-shirted Armitage.

    Like

  4. richardcfarmitage · April 14, 2016

    Lovely post – I feel ya on having to leave some white-shirted pics out (although, unlike many, I am partial to the Francesco Guidicini pics)! The pic where he is sitting on his hands, just FYI, is a photo manip of a pic of country star Chuck Wicks as seen in this article: http://www.examiner.com/article/julia-jones-one-of-rob-pattinson-s-costars-eclipse-stars-chuck-wick-s-new-music-video

    Like

    • jholland · April 14, 2016

      Oh how funny! I thought his arms looked “off” somehow, but figured it was positional. Totally suck at recognizing well-done manips! (This is not the first time!)

      Like

  5. Andrea Númellóte · April 14, 2016

    *eyes popping out* I never saw this video, only pictures from it. So thank you for this!

    Like

    • jholland · April 14, 2016

      Oh, my pleasure. My. Very. Great. Pleasure. LOL!

      Like

      • Andrea Númellóte · April 15, 2016

        I.Am.Sure.It.Was! XD I don’t know how, but my eyes managed to stay in their rightful place, – i think my heart took the blow for them for the biggest part. 😀

        Like

  6. Helen · April 14, 2016

    That pensive look… You can see from the video he was in the zone as Daniel Miller. Nice to see him working like that.

    Oh, John Thornton sans cravat – swoon. And the Porter image is pretty good too. I hadn’t realised it but yes, there is something about a white shirt. Or at least, an Armitage in a white shirt 😄

    Like

    • jholland · April 14, 2016

      Yep! (I’m really very partial to Hubby in a white button down shirt, black jeans, and his black cowboy boots)… he knows it’s a safe bet for date night every time. =)

      Liked by 3 people

  7. Guylty · April 14, 2016

    Thank you for this glorious collection and your take on the White Shirted, Lesser Known Armitage. It only lives in warm climates, and it may appear predatory, but it is in fact warm-blooded and cute when approached with caution.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Perry · April 14, 2016

      I often say, one can never have too many white shirts. Nice post. I know the quiet times can be rough. I came into fandom during a drought 3 years ago and spent a lot of time catching up on old stuff.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jholland · April 14, 2016

        I should really get with it. I have The Impressionists, unopened. =)

        Liked by 1 person

        • Perry · April 14, 2016

          Perfect. He wears a white shirt in that.

          Like

        • jholland · April 14, 2016

          That actually does increase my enthusiasm. I’m not sure that even the whitest of white shirts can make up for a wispy mustache, though….

          Liked by 1 person

        • Teuchter · April 15, 2016

          Just ignore the facial hair! I’m sure you will forget about it once you start watching. 😉 He is really fantastic as Monet and it gave me a whole new respect for Impressionism and what these artists went through before they were successful. It is beautifully filmed and the locations are just gorgeous.

          Like

        • jholland · April 15, 2016

          I know… he’s never let me down in a performance yet. I’ve been holding off for a long time, not sure what I’m waiting for. =)

          Like

        • Perry · April 18, 2016

          Yes but, he has no pants.

          Like

        • jholland · April 18, 2016

          He has no pants? Are you telling me he has no pants, and I’ve been sitting on this DVD for 2 years?

          Like

        • Teuchter · April 18, 2016

          I’d forgotten about the no pants scene! How could I? I found that billowy shirt/night-shirt quite mesmerizing as it gives just a little hint of what it is covering – but not quite! Maybe I need to haul out the DVD’s again!! 😉

          Like

        • Servetus · April 18, 2016

          Here’s the scene in question. You can decide for yourself if there’s the shadow of some briefs there …

          Like

        • Teuchter · April 18, 2016

          Wow! Thanks for the screencap! I have no idea how to make those. I think there is some underclothing there. Obviously more shy than Dolarhyde 😉

          Like

        • jholland · April 18, 2016

          Oooh. I can’t say from the screencap… looks like I’ll have to ogle the live action. The Impressionists just shot to the top of my RA priority list. LOL

          Like

    • jholland · April 14, 2016

      Oh, yes. It’s rarely sighted, but quite thrilling when encountered. Evidently it prowls banana stands.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Cath · April 14, 2016

    Agreed. Love this look. Thanks for posting.

    Like

  9. Teuchter · April 14, 2016

    Thank you for this “White Shirt” post! He truly looks stunning in them and the La Palma ones reminded me of something Harry Kennedy said, “…a promise of softness beneath” or words to that effect – although in his case I think it would be toned muscle!! *blushes*
    Apparently, or so I read somewhere, the “sitting on the hands one” is in fact a manip – the body actually belongs to Hugh Jackman. I always felt the body shape wasn’t quite right! 😉

    Like

    • jholland · April 14, 2016

      LOL… well now above richardfcarmitage posted a link that convinced me it’s the body of some (rather good looking) country music star… maybe there’s another manip with a Hugh Jackman bod, though! I would be the last person to ask, since I seem to get fooled by manips on a regular basis. =)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Teuchter · April 15, 2016

        I wonder who the body really belongs to? It seems there are a few claims to it! Will the REAL owner please step up? To funny!! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        • Teuchter · April 15, 2016

          That should be “too funny” of course! I must remember to spell check!!!

          Liked by 1 person

      • Servetus · April 16, 2016

        I’m aware of two “jackman” mashups — one where he’s wearing a suit, shirt and vest, and one where his face and Jackman’s face are combined. There’s also a manip of him in a kilt — I think that’s Bradley Cooper’s body iirc.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Teuchter · April 16, 2016

          And I thought the one in the kilt was originally Gerard Butler!! Who knows eh?? 😀

          Like

        • Servetus · April 16, 2016

          I think you’re probably right. I remember that Jas made it, in any case.

          Like

        • Teuchter · April 16, 2016

          Did she? Wow! I didn’t know that! 🙂

          Like

        • Servetus · April 16, 2016

          yeah, and when it started to get a lot of copies, she tried to inform people and they didn’t believe her (first round). Then there was a second round when it hit tumblr, and she got all this grief from a segment there who thought it was badly done (she did it while she was teaching herself photoshop) and she finally just removed it from her blog, iirc. But the picture is still all over the place.

          Like

        • jholland · April 16, 2016

          Oh, I’ve seen that one! Didn’t know it was hers, though. Somewhere along the line I learned it was a manip, maybe a facebook comment thread… and a quick google image search makes me pretty sure it was Gerard Butler originally. *I* thought it was cute!

          Like

        • Servetus · April 16, 2016

          I also thought it was pretty convincing.

          Like

        • jholland · April 16, 2016

          Oh yes. I only learned it was a manip after I spent a good while ogling. LOL

          Like

  10. linnetmoss · April 15, 2016

    There is something about the collar on a white buttoned shirt, the neck area… always a winner 🙂

    Like

    • jholland · April 15, 2016

      Yes… for some reason an open white collar really emphasizes that virility. =)

      Liked by 2 people

  11. zan, O1C · April 15, 2016

    *fans self* White button-down shirt. Khaki pants. Sunglasses. Sneakers. *siiiiiiiiiiiiiiiigh* Great post!
    All I can think of when I watch the tux video is the line from ZZ Top’s “Sharp Dressed Man” … ‘Every girl crazy ’bout a sharp-dressed man’. Understatement. (That really should have been the background music for it. 😉) Thanks for sharing that again. 🙂

    Like

    • jholland · April 15, 2016

      This post was definitely no hardship! And yes, the ZZ Top song does sum it up perfectly, doesn’t it?

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Esther · April 16, 2016

    Ah, lovely! Yeah, I am quite partial to the wet… erm… white shirt myself! 🙂

    Like

    • jholland · April 16, 2016

      Wet white shirts are all the more impressive… you Colin Firth afficionado, you! =)

      Liked by 1 person

  13. carlyquinnauthor · April 16, 2016

    Oh, that video hit the spot.

    Like

  14. aquileaofthelonelymountain · April 17, 2016

    THIS. This collection of Richard in a white shirt … SO GOOD. You made my day with that 🙂 I mean, Richard always looks gorgeous, but there is just something about that white shirt … *sighs deeply*

    Like

    • jholland · April 17, 2016

      That’s exactly how I felt when I saw those white shirt screencaps the other day… made my day! (Can’t wait to see the Berlin Station episode with the white shirt IN ACTION! =)

      Like

  15. squirrel.0072 · April 17, 2016

    Comme pour de nombreux sujets, l’attente et la période d’expectation sont les meilleurs moments. D’ autre part plus on prend du temps et de la réflexion meilleur est l’article 🙂 Continuez à prendre du temps!

    Like

    • jholland · April 17, 2016

      True, I suppose that the longer we spend waiting, the more thrilling and exciting it will be when FINALLY something big happens. =)

      Like

      • squirrel.0072 · April 17, 2016

        :)What sort of big something could FINALLY happens to make us the happiest? La sortie d’un de ses derniers films , bien sûr!
        Aujourd’hui je me contente de son expression avant de descendre l’escalier.
        Il y aurait beaucoup de matière à explorer sur la manière dont il se concentre en haut de l’escalier, avant d’entrer en scène. Un très beau instantané d’expressions fugitives très variées sur son visage et tout ceci en quelques millièmes de secondes (as I said to Servetus before)… J’adore votre troisième photographie, elle a, à mes yeux plus de valeur de sincérité que tous ses selfies de commande…

        Like

        • jholland · April 17, 2016

          Yes! Sleepwalker just seems to be lost in never never land! Higher hopes for Pilgrimage and Brain on Fire. I’ll have to revisit the video to look for expressions on his face. I may have been focusing a little lower. =)

          Like

  16. Gratiana Lovelace · April 17, 2016

    I will never look at another white shirt in quite the same way after this lovely post! And whether RA is in them or out of them, he is one very fine man! Sighhh! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  17. Hariclea · April 17, 2016

    oh, great post! what a nice recap!! I have to say i love those period white shirts, all rumpled underneath 🙂
    And the Porter version, sigh too bad for BS they went for the ‘looser’ look! that slightly slid towards the back look of the shirt makes me anxious i keep wanting to reach out and pull the collar back in it’s right position which would no longer make it bunch around the middle, but then again that shirt is way too big 🙂 But i get the point that i would have chosen a smaller one and opened another button and poof! all pretense of walking around unnoticed would have been gone! I would also not had hid the legs in those pants, same argument 🙂
    Still mesmerizing in motion, sigh. Definitely sweetens the wait for news..

    Like

    • jholland · April 17, 2016

      Yes… the shirt fairly begs for some minor adjustments… I’d like to volunteer! I can’t decide if I like the billowy-sleeved period shirts or the sharp (and tighter!) modern shirt (as in the Esquire video)… both have their charms. =) Agreed on the pants. Porter’s pants are far more sexy!!

      Like

      • Teuchter · April 17, 2016

        He’s probably happy they are a little loose! Have you checked out how humid it is there? He wouldn’t want his clothes sticking to him – although I’m sure many of us wouldn’t mind seeing that. We have no mercy! 😉

        Like

        • jholland · April 18, 2016

          LOL! We’d have sympathy, though. We’d gladly help him remove them!

          Liked by 1 person

  18. Gratiana Lovelace · April 27, 2016

    And do I detect some guyliner on the wet haired Armitage portrait? It brings out the blue of his eyes. Sighhh!

    Like

    • jholland · April 28, 2016

      I didn’t ever look at that and think “guyliner”, but you may be right. No doubt about it, his eyes are extra gorgeous in that shot… hmmmmm…… Sighhh is right! =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

