Linnet Has Sent A Richard Armitage Locket Shrine!!

locket shrine 3I’ve received a lovely, lovely surprise! And I must say, it really couldn’t have come at a more fortuitous moment, as I was up to my ears in tax documents trying to get everything together for the accountant, which is never any fun, and it was the last thing in the world I expected when they brought the mail in. In fact, I studiously ignored the mail for a couple of hours, not in the mood for any more bills. Imagine my surprise when I finally cleared some space on my desk, and reached for the stack of mail to go through and make sure there weren’t any last-minute “Important Tax Document” envelopes to be added to the file box I was compiling… and there on the top of the stack was a padded envelope! What a huge boost to my spirits!

locket shrine 2It contained the first Linnet Moss Richard Armitage Locket Shrine (so honored to be in possession of the first!) and it is a completely unique and beautiful gift. This is the coolest thing! The locket opens up, and little tiny charms can be interchanged to create a whole different look. In the photo, you can see how tiny they are in comparison to a ball point pen! She included two larger photos, one of John Proctor and one of myself with RA at the Stage Door, and on the back side of these, she’s put a screencap of my preoccupiedwitharmitage blog tag cloud. If you remove one of these larger photos, you can insert a variety of the smaller charms and gems, including a faceted Peridot gemstone (RA’s birthstone). She’s miniaturized the “Iconic Man” edit that Guylty and I worked on recently, as well as a black and white version of Proctor, then an eye photo (love, love, love!! My personal fave!) and another facial front-shot in color. There’s an itty-bitty Hobbit book (inside cover of which shows RA as Thorin) which is just incredibly adorable, as well as an “Arkenstone” and a filigree gold clasp. Just one piece of gold, to appease the dragon-sickness!

Linnet is a talented jewelry artist and has shared details about how she constructed the locket shrine, along with better pictures and tips for anyone who might be interested in creating their own, over at her blog. It contains a little bit of me, a little bit of Linnet, and several little bits of the beautiful man who has inspired our fandom.

I absolutely adore it, Linnet, and will treasure it! Thank you!

21 comments

  1. Hariclea · February 29, 2016

    Look! Your heart is full of RA! ‘Ggg’ sorry bad pun I know 😅but with such a beauty in possession you have to put up with the puns 😉it’s simply gorgeous and u love how it unites creator, wearer and object so wonderfully May you wear it with much joy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jholland · February 29, 2016

      LOL! Hey- if the shoe fits, wear it! Or in this case, the locket… Hubby has been teasing me with word plays as well. “Pocket shrines, locket shrines… what’s next? Sprocket shrines?” =)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hariclea · February 29, 2016

        LOL hubby is hilarious!!! and i think all that celery he must be eating is making RA giddy, see latest tweet 😉 side-effects from meat and dairy deprivation?

        Like

        • jholland · February 29, 2016

          Excellent theory! I didn’t understand the latest tweet in the least! I just scratched my head and wondered if it was an inside joke. Did you “get it” ? LOL.

          Like

        • Hariclea · February 29, 2016

          i knew about the 29th Feb being a day of marriage proposals 🙂 ie the only day, once every 4 years when women propose, the other i had to search and as usual the BBC knows all : http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/blogs-trending-35672319 .. a 15 year old.. ehem.. coughs

          Like

      • Hariclea · February 29, 2016

        oh and here is the article on marriage proposals, much nicer reading 🙂 http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-35635591

        Like

        • jholland · February 29, 2016

          LOL! Thanks for the links! Ok, so this all does make some sense. Loosely, at any rate. I completely missed the “Damn Daniel” viral sensation, so I assumed he was referring to the character Daniel, but the marriage proposal still made no sense! (I just learned something… Feb 29 is the day for ladies to propose… I never knew that was a thing!)

          Like

        • Hariclea · March 1, 2016

          oh i think he used the damn Daniel also in reference to his character, you know how he likes riddles in riddles 😉 I had no idea what it was, had to look it up, the Feb ladies thing was in the papers 😉 Wonder how he found out about both though…

          Like

        • jholland · March 1, 2016

          Yeah, he may have been getting “Damn Daniel” from cast or crew who happened to see that video. I watched it on the Ellen D. YouTube link, and while I scratch my head at why some things go viral, I have to admit that the phrase, and the way the kid says it, does tend to stick in your head. =)

          Liked by 1 person

        • Hariclea · March 1, 2016

          yes, in that annoying ‘ i want to kick somebody’ kind of way 😉

          Like

        • Esther · March 5, 2016

          There is a romantic comedy with Amy Adams about this called “Leap Year”. I only knew about this Feb 29th proposal malarky because of that movie. 🙂 Nice movie, btw. Very predictable but enjoyable enough for an evening if you like a romcom.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. linnetmoss · February 29, 2016

    I’m so pleased that you like it. Jewelry can be quite an individual thing, and especially with a piece of fan jewelry, one doesn’t know whether the recipient will want others to see the outward signs of devotion! One thing I like about these lockets is that the charms can be worn quite discreetly. But for my Ciarán Hinds “Julius Caesar” locket, I’m thinking of going gold tone with bright red, LOL. Maybe I can do him up in profile, like a Roman coin 🙂

    Like

    • jholland · February 29, 2016

      Oooh! I like the Julius Caesar idea. Can’t wait to see what you come up with next! That is the coolest part of this, though… I can be as discreet or as non-discreet as I choose with it, depending on the occasion. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Mezz · February 29, 2016

    What a beautiful locket!

    Like

    • jholland · February 29, 2016

      It is beautiful! And the gesture of friendship, priceless. =)

      Like

  4. Guylty · March 1, 2016

    That is such a wonderful present. Linnet is really a great jewellery maker – and a generous friend! I loved all the thought she put into the locket – the choice of pictures, the variety of combinations she has created to make this a unique piece of fan jewellery. Your pic with RA – close to your heart. Such a lovely idea.

    Like

    • jholland · March 1, 2016

      It’s just fabulous. And fun to try out the different combinations. Look for it in September, to be sure!!

      Like

  5. suzy · March 1, 2016

    What a unique and wonderful gift! Ra fans are really, really creative 🙂

    Like

    • jholland · March 1, 2016

      It is unique and wonderful! And though I’m very intimidated about trying my hand at jewelry making, I have had the inspiration, thanks to Linnet’s post showing some other examples of this type of locket, that this idea, featuring the kiddos, would make an amazing mother’s day gift for the grandmas… =)

      Like

  6. Esther · March 5, 2016

    How absolutely beautiful and creative! And thoughtful too! What a unique way of saying thank you. 🙂

    Like

  7. Gratiana Lovelace · March 6, 2016

    What a delightful idea and gift! Kudos to Linnet Moss and congrats to you! Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

