Is This A Pattern?

thanksgiving garb

Here’s what the kids wore to Thanksgiving. Seems like a lifetime ago…

I have not:

    • really visited the Richard Armitage forums since before Thanksgiving.
    • spent much more than an average of 10 minutes scanning Richard Armitage blogs per day since before Thanksgiving.
    • been on Twitter at all
    • searched the web for Richard Armitage news
    • watched any RA shows/movies/interviews (oops, nevermind… I did look at the deleted scenes of Hannibal S.3)
    • felt the need to blog about anything RA-related since before Thanksgiving.

Looking back, I believe my level of Richard Armitage Preoccupation significantly waned in late November and all of December in 2014, then seemed to pick up speed again in the early part of 2015. It seems to be a pattern.

 

 

top

Here’s my aunt’s quilt top just before we put it onto the quilter. I’m just glad to be done with it… really don’t like it very much but she’s into garish colors and this does deliver garishness. Sigh. It will have a final black border binding, but you get the gist.

I have (since Thanksgiving):

    • done every bit of my Christmas shopping, virtually entirely online except a few little stocking stuffers
    • kept up with wrapping as the packages began to arrive
    • completed one gift quilt for my aunt
    • completed the top for another gift quilt that has been in the planning stages for months
    • conceived, loosely designed, and in some cases shopped fabric for an additional 5 quilts

 

Quilting

Here it is loaded onto the quilter. Mom is frizzling with the thread tension. Young love is looking on.

  • for the first time DESIGNED fabric for one of those (and that just arrived yesterday, wowing me completely… unbelievably excited in my own, nerdy way, and wishing I could share but just can’t yet because I wish to later surprise someone who reads this blog!)
  • started the process of designing another custom fabric for another of those
  • shopped for kids clothes for Florida… after realizing the kids have apparently outgrown most of their summer clothes… PLEASE let the weather in Florida be balmy and please let these items  still fit them when summer returns here!!

 

christmas chaos

This is my office at work. Christmas chaos, I tell you.

I have yet to:

  • finish wrapping presents
  • pack for Florida
  • mail gifts to Florida and elsewhere
  • finalize pet-sitting arrangements (damn, at this point Dolarhyde is looking better than nothing)
  • get my hair done (it’s been since August and looking not-so-hot)
  • get a border and a back on my completed quilt top- that’s not looking promising… and WHY do I have these inconvenient quilting and design urges right at Christmas!?!?! Just when money and time are both tight, that’s when all I really want to do is quilt!
  • clean my house (I hate to leave my house in disarray and have to come back to it)
  • hang Christmas stockings (the tree is just not happening this year… grandmas, the ball is in your court for some sort of Christmas tree experience for the kids!)

So now you know! No problems. Still love Armitage. Just busy as hell!

 

23 comments

  1. Helen · December 5, 2015

    You’ve just made me feel exhausted! Good luck… And relax! 😉

    Like

    • Helen · December 5, 2015

      Ps gorgeous quilt! 😃

      Like

      • jholland · December 5, 2015

        Thank you! It’s not a favorite, but knowing her, and the stuff she wears and decorates with, it will be right up her alley. And lol- yes… just reading my lists makes me exhausted, too! I still found the energy to complete the border/finalize the top for my quilt in progress. Quickly sew a back tomorrow and it will be ready for the quilter… but I do doubt I can get the quilting done before we leave for Florida. Still… maybe during the day or two after Christmas I can knock that out… if I’m still alive and kicking! =)

        Like

  2. linda60 · December 5, 2015

    Goodness Me!!!!!!!!!!! Words fail me……..Big eyes…..

    Like

    • linda60 · December 5, 2015

      and……wow, you’re well equipped when it comes to quilts!! Your aunt’s one does look really colourful and vivid! Nice.

      Like

      • jholland · December 5, 2015

        Thank you, Linda! I have been so preoccupied with Armitage… I think I started that quilt in February or March, then worked on it occasionally for months. I needed to finish it up in time for Christmas that just triggered my “quilting fever”. I’ve been hard at work with idea after idea for the past few weeks!

        Like

  3. CraMERRY · December 6, 2015

    Good to know, that you still love him, you Quilt-Queen 😀
    Hm, a quilt-surprise? Very intriguing…..

    Like

    • jholland · December 6, 2015

      Of course I still love him! LOL And yes, there’s nothing I enjoy more than delivering a surprise! =)

      Like

  4. suzy · December 6, 2015

    The quilt is really beautiful! And a lot of work to make it?
    Busy bee ❤
    but Christmas is coming with all the unsual and unusual preparations for Christmas. I wish you a happy second Advent 🎄

    Like

    • jholland · December 6, 2015

      Thank you, Suzy! My mom very kindly finished the final binding for me today since I’ve been so eager to work on the next one. I do like it better in the final product- that little black binding around the rim improved it for me. It was a lot of work, but nothing tricky about it. Quilting as a hobby is always time consuming, but obviously I enjoy it, LOL!

      Like

  5. linnetmoss · December 6, 2015

    I think the psychedelic quilt is cool! And I’m in awe of everything you’ve done. I don’t have kids so my Christmas preparations are always un-inspiring. And on top of that I cannot even manage a haircut!!

    Like

    • jholland · December 6, 2015

      Thanks! The quilt is rather psychedelic- it’s another One Block Wonder, which means that all the hexagons are created as kaleidoscopes from one fabric (in this case, a panel of pansy varieties, which is why it’s so colorful)… only the “cubes” and borders are out of different/coordinating fabrics.) My aunt is a pansy aficionado. Here is the fabric the quilt was made from:

      (The back of the quilt is all black with the panel in the center, so she can see what it was made from! In this case I like the back better than the front!)
      My hair stylist and I joke that I’m her only regular customer who only comes in every 6 months. I’m actually doing well at only 4 1/2 months since my last appointment! =)

      Liked by 1 person

      • linnetmoss · December 7, 2015

        Haha! I’ve got short hair so I can’t get away with 6 months, but I’d like to 🙂
        I adore pansies and violets. My favorite flowers.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Esther · December 6, 2015

    I like the quilt too! Wow, yeah, you certainly have been busy… You sound like you’re totally on top of it, though, so well done! 🙂

    Like

    • jholland · December 6, 2015

      I am! Business is always somewhat slow in December, so I’ve been able to use my free time at work to do a lot of the shopping and wrapping. The end is in sight!!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Servetus · December 6, 2015

    I hope your aunt feels loved!

    re: FL, Dec / January are supposed to be cooler than usual but I have seen no sign of it so far. It was over 80 five days this week.

    Like

    • jholland · December 6, 2015

      My aunt is definitely loved! Gosh I hope Florida isn’t too cool… the last time we did Christmas there (5 or six years ago), we packed for balmy weather and it was 40-45 degrees the whole time! Manatees were in extremis and we had nothing but shorts to wear. LOL

      Like

      • Servetus · December 6, 2015

        I don’t think it will quite *that* cold. It’s been in the mid 60s overnight.

        Like

        • jholland · December 6, 2015

          Whew… I can deal with that. Learned from the last time to pack at least one pair of pants and a jacket for everyone, just in case! =)

          Like

  8. Hariclea · December 6, 2015

    i like the quilt! it would be fab piece in the house if everything else was pretty much monotonal, brightens things up and cheers up 🙂
    Phew, your list sound in many ways similar to mine, especially on the still to do with packing and shipping.. except i don’t get to go to go to warmer climate , quite the contrary so have to drag out the stuff i only wear when going home and wrapping up 🙂
    January will be dull (hope so!) and we’ll have plenty of time to preoccupy ourselves with renewed intensity 🙂
    Good luck with all the stuff and hope you get to enjoy the holidays 🙂

    Like

    • jholland · December 6, 2015

      True! The quilt would look good in a monotonal setting. Unfortunately, that’s not the case at my aunt’s house. =) Vacation is always so much work! (But well worth it once you get there!)

      Liked by 1 person

  9. AnotherRAFan · December 8, 2015

    Hey , Can I just say I love your son’s outfit. I would say it is armitage inspired 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • jholland · December 8, 2015

      Channelling the black leather… =) Yep!

      Like

Leave a Reply

