How Did I NOT Fall For Richard Armitage In December 2012?

unexpected-journey

Richard Armitage. Thorin Oakenshield. The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012)

I went to see the extended edition of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey at the movie theatre last night. As I’ve previously mentioned, Hubby and I have long been fans of Peter Jackson’s Middle Earth films, and haven’t missed an opening night on any one of them. However, with the Lord of the Rings trilogy, we waited until all three films were out then bought all three at once with a boxed set of extended editions, and have been waiting for several years now to do likewise with The Hobbit trilogy. All this to say, I haven’t ever seen the AUJ extended version, and though I’ve watched bits and pieces on television when it aired, I haven’t actually watched it all the way through since December of 2012.

What struck me last night, with my newfound “preoccupation” with Richard Armitage, was how in hell I didn’t “discover” Richard back then? I do recall thinking the actor who played Thorin Oakenshield did a damn fine job, and was unusually hot for a dwarf (along with Kili and Fili) to boot… after all, my experience with dwarves to that point rested mainly with the not-so-stirring Gimli from the earlier trilogy. No offense, Gimli! I liked you well enough to consider getting a pug and naming it “Gimli”…  But really, there was the end of it. We loved the movie and were well-satisfied to return to Middle Earth. I vaguely remember asking Hubby if he knew the actor who played Thorin, and when he didn’t, I IMDB’d the guy, notified Hubby that he didn’t look anything like Thorin in real life, and was some British actor I’d never heard of. I even scrolled through his credits to confirm I’d never seen any of his previous works, and I believe I concluded that he was an “unknown”… LOL! Sorry, Richard! Little did I know that you already had a fervent following!

While we were avid enough fans of Peter Jackson to brave opening night, long lines and all that jazz at the cinemas, and we were aware that the Hobbit movies were being filmed, we weren’t nearly so avid as to be actually following who was cast, so we were blithely unaware that there had been controversy and disputes within the Middle Earth fandom surrounding the casting of a young, handsome “unknown” actor for the role that many believed should have gone to someone older, someone “fantasy cast” for years by Tolkien lovers. I can only hope that the naysayers were for the most part proven wrong (you can’t please everyone, so 100% conversion is not to be expected!) All I know is that I was, at the time, NOT familiar with Armitage, and I was very much impressed with everyone’s performance. I don’t believe I bothered to IMDB any of the other cast, though, so that tells you something- Thorin stood out for me even back then.

However, from my new perspective, it’s hard to believe that I didn’t overcome my apparently inherent prejudice against short hairy dwarves and fall irretrievably in love with Armitage back when. After seeing the film again last night, I appreciated him even more. Thorin’s voice! That noble visage! What was wrong with my eyes and my ears in 2012? I could just smack myself when I look back on it.

I’ll never understand it. Looking forward to Desolation of Smaug tonight, though! Extended Edition Richarding… it’s a beautiful thing. =)

50 comments

  1. Guylty · October 6, 2015

    Ah, there is the first person who has been treated to the AUJ EE marathon. But she is so preoccupied with Armitage, we hear nothing of the film itself. Is that already a comment in itself???
    As for missing the majesticity of Armitage DESPITE having checked him out on IMDB – well, I have no words, J! 😉 But you redeem yourself nicely with the fervour and vigour with which you eventually joined the ranks of the Army. So it’s all good.
    BTW – I know that it was the Crucible that made you a fan, but when *did* you eventually become interested in RA? One of the other two instalments of TH?

    Like

    • jholland · October 6, 2015

      The film was great! I’m ashamed to admit I don’t recall AUJ well enough to be certain which parts were new material… though I think I recognized some new scenes, I’m not confident enough to say which on my blog, in case I’m wrong. LOL. And… I was a fan before The Crucible… it was TC that inspired me to blog, but it was the lovely John Thornton several months before I journeyed to London who first sent me back to IMDB and I was SHOCKED when I realized it was the same guy who played Thorin Oakenshield! Once I realized it was the same guy, I decided I’d better watch the rest of his work. (Still working on that!) And not long after that, I started watching interviews with the actor himself and that was the kicker. He’s terribly charming, as you know. =)

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Helen · October 6, 2015

    Ahhhhhhh, John Thornton 😀 My gateway drug too 😉 Though it wasn’t until part 4 that the infatuation really hit me and made me go back and watch it all through again with a new perspective 😉

    Like

    • jholland · October 6, 2015

      LOL! I admit my jaw dropped as soon as I saw him on the mill floor, but if I hadn’t already become infatuated, the proposal scene would have done it for me. By the time I reached episode 4, I was truly a goner. Then the kiss. What puzzles me is how any woman could ever watch N&S and not become fanatical about Richard Armitage! LOL

      Like

  3. CraMERRY · October 6, 2015

    Sounds like love at second sight……

    Like

    • jholland · October 6, 2015

      Yes! I can go back now and see how so many entered the fandom through The Hobbit films. Just can’t figure out why I didn’t! LOL

      Like

      • CraMERRY · October 6, 2015

        Honestly I don’t fall in love with dwarves (I’m 6 feet tall 😁). For me it was Thornton too. And when I heard, that he was playing a dwarf (at the beginning of 2014), I thought this must be very ridiculous. Okay, I was wrong…..What a nice mistake 😀

        Like

        • jholland · October 6, 2015

          You know, it must have seemed like a prank when his new role was first announced to the fandom at the time! Ridiculous, indeed! =)

          Liked by 1 person

        • CraMERRY · October 6, 2015

          And now I have to admit, he is ridiculous gorgeous 😝

          Liked by 2 people

  4. Carol Megson · October 6, 2015

    I couldn’t have said it better myself. I, too, saw all three movies at the theater when they were released, but really didn’t “get” Thorin until I bought the extended version of TH:AUJ. So, I looked him up, and was caught: hook, line, and sinker!!!

    Like

    • jholland · October 6, 2015

      Welcome, Carol! So it was the extended version that snared you! So I guess I’ll embarrass myself and ask… you know the scene where Gandalf and Elrond are discussing the madness in the line of Durin… was that new material, with Bilbo and Thorin listening in? (It was new to me… I didn’t remember it if it was in the original version… but that might just be my faulty memory!) Anyway, he looked soooo proud and beautiful and troubled in that scene. I fell for Thorin all over again last night at that moment…. =)

      Like

      • cinder · October 6, 2015

        I’m not Carol but I can answer–yes, that scene was new for the EE, and for the life of me I don’t understand why PJ didn’t include it in the theatrical cut–I think it’s such a beautiful, poignant scene and RA delivered it all magnificently with his eyes. And Thornton was my gateway, but Thorin sealed the deal–but since I’m not a Hobbit/LOTR uber, I didn’t see the first 2 Hobbit movies until they showed up on HBO and then I smacked myself for missing seeing RA on the big screen. At least I was able to rectify that mistake with multiple viewings of BOFTA in the theater!

        Like

        • jholland · October 6, 2015

          Oh, thanks for confirming that was a new scene. LOVED it… took my breath away, in fact. Desperately need a screencap of Thorin’s facial expressions there. I wasn’t in the fandom prior to 2014 so BOTFA was my first time to do “multiple” Hobbit viewings at the theatre… and even so, I’m truly excited to see the EE- apparently I didn’t see it so many times as to become tired of it! =)

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Hariclea · October 6, 2015

    Ohh i am so envious you guys get to enjoy them in the cinema! Not last because i too sort of latched on to the Hobbit only at BOTFA. I can’t say i had a clue of who R was before the Crucible. My friend pointed out i must have seen him in DOS but i couldn’t remember it very well. I wasn’t really a fan of the whole Middlearth universe, i had seen the LOTR movies but only on telly and i pretty sure to this day i haven’t seen all 3 whole. I only saw DOS because a friend got free tickets and i was curious to see a moview in

    Like

  6. sparkhouse1 · October 6, 2015

    I first caught a glimpse of RA as Guy of Gisborne on a Robin Hood re-run one afternoon. Just for a few seconds (as he watched the mute be thrown from the castle roof top. And I thought wow, I can’t believe they just did that! And then I thought, oh my, who is that tall dark and handsome guy? And then I couldn’t ever find the show again and I had no idea what his name was. I saw him as Heinz Kruger later and never had an inkling it was the same guy. And Heinz Kruger was really well played but no sparks there. And then came the know on Bilbo’s door and soon as he spoke his first word I was hooked. And watched his other stuffed. As was absolutely shocked to find out he was the guy (Guy!) in Robin Hood and Heinz Kruger. Which hooked me all the more – what a great actor. But, before I knew anything at all about Richard Armitage I well remember the Tolkein fans not pleased at all that this guy was cast. But RA did such an amazing job, becoming Thorin, that I can’t remember who the actors were that the Middle Earth fans wanted to see in the role — do you remember? I’m really curious now.

    Like

    • jholland · October 6, 2015

      LOL… it is shocking to realize the guy who played Thorin was the same as (insert your chaRActer of choice)! I don’t know the details, but Brian Blessed and Ian McShane are a couple of the actors that were apparently considered ideal for Thorin and I only know this info from an interesting guest post I read at some point on Serv’s blog:
      https://meandrichard.wordpress.com/2013/08/29/playing-thorin-or-pitfalls-and-rewards-of-taking-on-an-iconic-tolkien-character-part-1-guest-post-by-katharined/

      Like

      • sparkhouse1 · October 6, 2015

        Brian Blessed! I remember that. I thought at the time he would have been perfect and (at the time) thinking…what is are they thinking?! Who the heck is Richard Armitage? And he looks so young, no way could he play Thorin. Also, I think becoming a fan/admirer of RA is like how he describes his career…” a slow burn” but then, it’s on fire!

        Like

        • jholland · October 6, 2015

          LOL- an apt analogy! First you simmer, then before you know it you’re in the midst of a full-on conflagration! But I can totally see how people who had Brian Blessed in mind would google or IMDB Armitage and be like: WTF? *snickers*

          Liked by 1 person

  7. Hariclea · October 6, 2015

    ACK, sorry, pressed send without intending. Meant to say i only went to see DOS because i had never seen a movie in 3D before and hadn’t actually been to the cinema in ages. So overall it was too much information to take in to focus on any particular actor. I did remember Thorin but i can’t say anyone in particular stood out for me. I enjoyed the entire experience and liked the movie. But there was a lot going on, many characters, story line etc. I knew of it from my friend who is a big fan and was really curious about the dragon 🙂 I am convinced in retrospect i would have loved Thorin much more if i had a change to see AUJ in the cinema. I love AUJ and a lot of my favourite scenes in the trilogy are from AUJ. Once i did get a chance to see it, Thorin was definitely my hero!
    He still is 🙂 And although i have seen N&S, i am much more drawn to Thorin than Thornton.
    Unfortunately i only got the chance to see AUJ in the cinema once, when they showed all 3 when BOTFA premièred, but i am grateful i got that, as it seems we won’t be as lucky with the extended versions 😦
    But i have seen it on TV several times and i stick with it every time it is on whereas i can’t really say i am very keen on seeing N&S again. However much i like him, i just dislike her all too much to enjoy it the way enjoy the Hobbit 🙂
    And i love fantasy heroes like Thorin.
    I’m also holding off buying the normal version since i bought the extended ones in the previous 2 so after i binge watched it around Xmas i haven’t seen it since. It was crazy LOL as they showed the Crucible here at the same time and i literally alternated between the 2 for a bit more than 2 months and i’ve seen each at least 4 times 🙂
    I’d love to get another chance to the big screen experience with the Hobbit…. even with the risk of dehydration from even more crying 😉

    What i would love most is a chance to see all 3 movies again… sigh. I might have to organise my own viewing at home, though it is not quite the same.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jholland · October 6, 2015

      I was so excited to have the opportunity to see them “one last time”, extended editions, in theatres! Unfortunately, I’m sometimes such an idiot I boggle my own mind. I apparently got the dates mixed up and went to the theatre tonight with my prepaid ticket, which I’d bought online but somehow either clicked on the wrong thing or the online ticketing site misdirected me via computer gliche… but I didn’t actually *look* at my e-ticket for tonight and just went on into the theatre and sat there for 45 minutes wondering why all the previews seemed to be so different than last night… a bunch of rock concert previews when last night it was opera previews interspersed with Hobbit trivia. Then the appointed time came around and the band “Miami” came onto the screen and at that point I realized I was NOT at Desolation of Smaug. Whoops!. Headed straight out the door and exchanged for tomorrow night when DOS is supposed to show! Sigh. Typical me.

      I do think it would be harder to become attached to Thorin if jumping in at DOS… all of his great, tragic backstory is in AUJ! Good thing you did get to see AUJ at least once in theatres, though! So who is YOUR fave character… I know you prefer Thorin over Thornton, but where does Proctor fall?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hariclea · October 7, 2015

        omg what stress! lucky you were able to exchange and did not miss DOS! Curious to see how you will feel about it and enjoyyy, as it is tonight by the time i write back 🙂 I am going to see Macbeth tonight, quite excited as i have been looking forward to it but somewhat dampened by the wish to see Thorin again 🙂

        Oh i always feel horrible about ranking his characters… I have only seen a few so far: Proctor, Thorin, Guy (still to watch 2nd half of S3), Lucas (yet to watch S9 and ep 1 of S7), Porter (just begun) and Thornton.
        Of these few Thornton is my least favourite, just in terms of story line and character development and all, it is not circumstances i would revisit a lot (I don’t think marriage to that women in particular compensates for loosing a lifetime’s worth of work and i think his character is more defined by his work ethic and his dedication to it and his family than his infatuation with her. I always feel a bit sad and sorry for Thornton, he deserved better because he is a special man). Also it pains me to re-watch the suffering of the workers and all those circumstances, it is not the sort of cathartic experience once seeks in re-watching something.

        I really like both Lucas and Porter and i will be able to rewatch quite a bit, probably Porter more often than Lucas because in Spooks part of the excitement is the intricacy of the intrigue and once you know what is happening it is not quite the same, but i like his character. Porter in some respects is more fun, it is all OTT, action and he is the hero, he’s almost unreal he’s so good 🙂

        But i think i will somewhat always prefer both Proctor and Thorin to them. Thorin is my (grown up girl) fantasy of prince charming, he really is. He truly is my fairytale hero 🙂 The whole journey, the courage, the flaws, the redemption, the death… sniiiiifff. I can’t imagine he will ever play another role quite like it again.

        And Proctor as a real man will always be special to me. I love everything about the story and it is something i will be able to rewatch. I think i like him as much as do Thorin, again his flaws, his conflicts, the way Armitage’s Proctor really loves his wife (and i mean his Proctor rather than the generic one as i do think it was his relationship with the wife that made it special). He’s the real man one would want to have i guess, errors and all…. and hopefully without the life threatening circumstances. But there is something of his back bone that i admire, maybe some of it is similar to Thorin?

        Guy – i would probably have to say i like him as much as the two above , just as the bit on the side 😀 He’s the one i’d love to have a hot affair with! 🙂 No one is better for naughty times than the dark night :-p

        Just realised i forgot Dolarhyde! Well, not forgot really, but as much as i admire his acting Dolarhyde is not somebody i’d like to meet or even have in my fantasies. We’ll put him under intellectual appreciation of acting talent and visceral appreciation of physical attributes 😉
        So i guess i have for the moment 3 favourites rather than 1.
        Aren’t we lucky he’s provided us with a man for every hour and fancy? ;-))) (Makes one wonder if he himself is a combination of all those minus Dolarhyde :-p )

        Like

        • trudystattle · October 7, 2015

          Sorry for Thornton?! Oh wow, then you must have a totally different image of Margaret than I do. He didn’t just randomly fall in love with her, he saw in her the depth of moral conviction and personal passion that he himself possesses! He knew she’d be a match for him in her ability to meet hard life challenges, love with fierce loyalty, and forge ahead in life with independent convictions that may alter from convention. She’ll be his best counsellor, supporter, motivator, and his soft place to land at the end of the day. Should he have picked Ann Latimer?!? She would have been casual about everything in their marriage except the arrangement of the furniture, her social opportunities, and her own wardrobe.
          Whoops, sorry for the rant, but I think Gaskell did good in making Thornton get what he deserved.

          Like

        • jholland · October 7, 2015

          I agree, Trudy! I thought they were well matched and will make a wonderful couple! Yes, Margaret annoyed me at times, but I could understand her point of view. They were both flawed, but deep down, good people with a heart for helping others.

          Like

        • trudystattle · October 7, 2015

          Yes, and they both helped expand each other’s thinking. Margaret was only a teenager, and was struggling to understand her new environs while her world slowly implodes around her. I’d give her some slack in figuring out things in Milton. Should she have accepted his proposal because he was handsome and wealthy? That would have been shallow. She couldn’t accept him at that point, because she wasn’t clear yet on who he was. She wasn’t up for marrying for shallow reasons, she wanted to marry for love.
          There. I’ve helped defend misunderstood Margaret a little. I can relax now today, knowing I’ve done my bit. 😉

          Liked by 1 person

        • Hariclea · October 7, 2015

          Whoa… didn’t mean to step on anyone’s sensibilities. I don’t dislike Thornton but i dislike her, possibly because i thoroughly disliked both the actress and her acting. She’s just not my kind of heroine and i don’t like Gaskell very much either. But i am quite happy people love the story so much 🙂 For me personally the love story was secondary in the books as well as in the filmed version, but we all prefer different RA characters and that is ok.

          Like

        • trudystattle · October 7, 2015

          No worries. I only tire of a misinterpretation of character in film/books. Of course we all favor different stories. It’s no secret that I love Victorian romances – all that repressed passion! 🙂

          Like

        • jholland · October 7, 2015

          Oh, yes… repressed passion… aka smoldering… and no one does it better than Mr. Armitage.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Hariclea · October 7, 2015

          I like them too, it is just that for me N&S was not a love story first and foremost but only very secondarily. I felt the same watching the TV adaptation as well. Although i recognise her growth story is interesting, there are bigger things happening and i don’t think his world is complete with just getting the girl 🙂 And i just was not so much into her ‘coming of age’ story in the context of the mills breaking down and so on. I found the story of Nicholas Higgins more interesting and Thornton’s own relationship to the mill community and so on. In terms of female characters his mother was by far the more interesting for me 🙂
          I found the love story which underpins the Crucible much more riveting and touching or just the relationships the main characters have there.
          I certainly see the romantic appeal of Mr Thornton, it is just not the most romantic love story for me, i get too distracted and preoccupied and distressed with the social context of it all.

          Liked by 2 people

        • trudystattle · October 7, 2015

          I love Hannah, too! What a great female character. I’m sure one of the reasons John was attracted to M was that she was so much like mum in many ways. Women of steely strength. Quite the opposite of the more wimpy Mr Hale and Boucher. I love that Gaskell mixes up gender stereotypes and doles out traits to individuals, not types.

          Liked by 2 people

        • jholland · October 7, 2015

          You’re not alone, Hari… I raved about N&S to several people and encouraged them to watch it. While Mom enjoyed it, it wasn’t to the extent that *I* did, and she didn’t feel the urge to rewatch multiple times, either. My cousin (with whom I share very similar taste in books and film) was all for Thornton but called the heroine “very weak”… hmph! LOL

          Liked by 1 person

        • Hariclea · October 7, 2015

          i always think Lizzy Bennet would have made such a great partner for John Thornton :-p

          Liked by 1 person

        • jholland · October 7, 2015

          LOL- I wouldn’t care to encounter Dolarhyde under any circumstances, either! Even at a distance! I’m right with you on Guy- he’s so over the top it’s hard to see him as anything other than a hot fantasy and sadly, I fear it has to do with his bad boy vibe and his gorgeous looks, for me. LOL. Thorin has an epic quality and as far as fantasy figures go, he has more to recommend him than Guy. Lucas and Porter heroic and dashing in their way, yet hard to relate to… though men like them no doubt exist, we don’t encounter them in our humdrum lives. But Thornton and Proctor are more like real men. I don’t dislike Margaret the way you do, though she made me mad at times, so did Thornton… real people with relatable circumstances!
          BTW… I was just mad at myself because I wasted all that time and missed an evening with Hubby and kids. Hubby signed up for 3 nights of kid dinner-bath-bedtime and now he gets 4 because of my stupid error. However, I’m very relieved my mix-up had me at the theatre a day early rather than a day late! =)

          Liked by 1 person

  8. utepirat · October 6, 2015

    Interesting how everyone got to fall in love with Mr. A. Though I knew most of his work before the AUJ release, bought also some DVD’s and watched a lot on TV ( I really cried when Lucas North died), I got the initial kick to fall in love with the man when Thorin arrived in Bag End on the big screen. I’ll never forget this 1st January 2013. I can’t remember sighing out loud when I looked in those eyes (my companions – my little brother, my daughter and my son in law – where a bit embarassed by that behaviour😳), but I was totally strucked…
    I also have to admit, that it took me some time to realize that Mr. Thornton, John Porter, Lucas North and Sir Guy were embodied by the same great actor (different German dubbing). That shows what a great talent he’s got😊
    Hopefully we’ll get to see the three extended Hobbit versions on the big screen in Germany, too.

    Like

  9. Gratiana Lovelace · October 6, 2015

    February 2010, rented Gaskell’s BBC 2004 North & South dvd on whim because I like period costume dramas, *THUD*!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. trudystattle · October 6, 2015

    I’m so pleased to know that Thornton still reels them in – all these years later. My anniversary is this month, 2009, when I found N&S.
    I’m not really much of a Tolkein/fantasy fan, but I really enjoyed watching Thorin on the big screen that first movie. I can see how he has continue to captivate many to his enclave of distinguished fans. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • jholland · October 6, 2015

      Yes… the legacy continues! He’s so versatile and nails every role he takes on… so the new fans are sure to come from each and every new project. But… Broody John Thornton is just sooo romantically appealing for me!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. linnetmoss · October 7, 2015

    Your experience reminds me of seeing HBO’s “Rome” when it first aired and thinking, “Gee the show isn’t that great now that Caesar’s dead.” But I didn’t become a fan until later, and when I went back to watch it then, WOW! LOL about getting a pug named Gimli. It’s the PERFECT name for a pug!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jholland · October 7, 2015

      Re: Gimli the Pug… I thought so! I no longer really desire a pug (so many health issues… being the vet kind of put me off the idea of a pug-of-my-own after awhile… though I still like them a lot!) Haven’t seen Rome… maybe I should check it out!

      Liked by 1 person

      • linnetmoss · October 7, 2015

        I’m a cat person, but I’m very attracted to pugs. I love ugly little dogs the best. It’s true though, they have trouble just breathing! Very sad. I don’t think I could own one (or any other “pure bred” animal) unless it was a rescue situation.

        Like

        • jholland · October 7, 2015

          Oh, I’m a sucker for any brachycephalic dog breed. I’m the same way… though I love my purebred hairless cats… they’re both rescues. I wouldn’t just go out and buy a kitten when there are so many unwanted ones needing homes!

          Liked by 1 person

        • linnetmoss · October 7, 2015

          Exactly.

          Like

  12. Pingback: Thorin Thursday Triptych of Richard Armitage Admiration, October 8, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #811) | Something About Love (A)
  13. Servetus · October 11, 2015

    The fandom expanded massively when AUJ hit the screen — almost instantly. Like within three weeks tumblr completely changed composition, I thought. I felt before that like I sort of “knew” a big chunk of RA fans (or had seen their screen names somewhere) and that moment just changed everything.

    I’m not sure I’d have fallen in love with Armitage on the basis of Thorin, though. His first entrance is kind of offputting. Maybe as the film went on.

    Like

    • jholland · October 12, 2015

      I bet it was disconcerting to have an influx of new fans so suddenly! It was interesting to me to go back and watch AUJ (and DOS) with my newfound Armitage Admiration. I watched Thorin all the more closely, of course. The key ingredients of what I love about his acting are all there, and of course the voice is delicious. Maybe part of why I liked Thorin but didn’t love him was how cranky he was, without the balance of the vulnerability we got to see in the EE of AUJ. That may have made all the difference. I’ll never know. =)

      Like

      • Servetus · October 17, 2015

        Yeah, he’s such a jerk for most of AUJ. Scornful of Bilbo, haughty to the elves, etc., etc.
        re: the fandom — it was wild. I was probably unreasonably optimistic about what it would mean for the fandom. But the surge of creativity at the beginning was wonderful to watch.

        Like

Leave a Reply

