Speaking of Spies… @GirlofGisborne Made Me a Lucas Fanvid!!

A couple of weeks ago, after I’d raved about her Francis Dolarhyde fanvid over at the forum and dropped a hint mentioned how I’d always wanted to make a specific Lucas North fanvid, the lovely, talented and compassionate Girl of Gisborne offered to lend her amazing artistic and technical skills to the project!

When I first heard the song “Welcome Home” by Radical Face, I fell in love with the song, and not long after that, I discovered Richard Armitage and soon found myself immersed in Spooks and totally overwhelmed with Lucas North. As many of us in the early throes of Armitage Affliction will have experienced, one of the great joys of “discovering” Richard is in endlessly browsing RA fanvids on YouTube. As you can imagine, I soon began to fantasize about making my own fanvid, and the song I had in mind, “Welcome Home” seemed so appropriate for the tortured character of Lucas North, newly returned from his 8 year Russian imprisonment, so beautiful and so irresistibly full of angst.

I think the result is sublime! I get teary-eyed every time I watch it. Some magical combination of the song, the lyrics, the stunning man, and his emotional upheaval… it’s a gorgeous fanvid. Check it out:

 

* * *

“Welcome Home” by Radical Face

Sleep don’t visit, so I choke on sun and the days blur into one
And the backs of my eyes hum with things I’ve never done

Sheets are swaying from an old clothesline
Like a row of captured ghosts over old dead grass
Was never much, but we’ve made the most
Welcome home

Ships are launching from my chest
Some have names but most do not
If you find one, please let me know what piece I’ve lost

Peel the scars from off my back
I don’t need them anymore
You can throw them out or keep them in your mason jars
I’ve come home

All my nightmares escape my head
Bar the door, please don’t let them in
You were never supposed to leave
Now my head’s splitting at the seams
And I don’t know if I can

Here, beneath my lungs
I feel your thumbs
Press into my skin again

* * *

HUGE and heartfelt thank you to Girl of Gisborne. “Ships are launching from my chest”… I’m so touched that you would go to so much time and effort, and the final product is brilliant! And in light of today’s announcement that Richard will be taking on a similar role (Daniel Meyer, CIA agent) in next fall’s EPIX original series Berlin Station, it’s also a very timely way to celebrate our man’s amazing talents in the spy genre!

2/18/16 Update: Girl of Gisborne took down her YouTube channel for reasons as yet unknown… *sobs*… apparently I had downloaded my special video, so I still have it… but I really miss the other videos. Girl of Gisborne, if you read this… we miss you and your lovely talent!

 

 

13 comments

  1. SH · September 11, 2015

    It’s really wonderful!! I have to say I’m not very objective because I think GoG is as sweet as she is talented 🙂 Which is really saying something, in her case. I think she has really great things ahead of her….

    Liked by 1 person

    • jholland · September 11, 2015

      Yes, I love her to pieces! But… it’s soooooo beautiful! She picks the most gorgeous footage.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Frame That Caught My Breath | Armitage Agonistes
  3. SH · September 11, 2015

    Yep, every time 🙂

    Like

  4. linnetmoss · September 12, 2015

    I love the sequences where he’s walking. And some good hand shots in there too!

    Like

    • jholland · September 12, 2015

      Yes! And I love how she overlaid other footage. I don’t know how she does it, but the image of him walking along with an old clotheline in the background to match the lyrics… brilliant! I’m pretty sure I never saw any clotheslines in Spooks, so she’s been extra creative!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Esther · September 12, 2015

    Wow, bloody awesome – that she did this and the video!

    Like

    • jholland · September 12, 2015

      Yes! The more I watch the more blown away I am. She has mad video editing skills, as well as incredible artistic eye and timing with the music. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  6. suzy · September 13, 2015

    What a great fanvid – wow, I am really impressed. A wonderful vid for a Lucas North fan!! ❤

    Like

    • jholland · September 13, 2015

      Yes… she hit all the highlights, didn’t she? I love how she captured his vulnerability, and the video follows such a narrative. It’s not a happy song, all about recovering from an abusive situation… and she just nailed it. *Sigh*… Lucas, Lucas, Lucas. It makes me want to start series 7 again. =)

      Like

  7. Girl of Gisborne · September 13, 2015

    Just found time to read this blog post – thank you so much Jholland and everyone for your lovely comments! I’m deeply flattered! 🙂 *blushes*

    Liked by 2 people

    • jholland · September 13, 2015

      LOL! I’ve been sharing it here, there, everywhere! And, replaying it myself like a little kid with an Elmo song. *Snickers* Actually, my kids are practically singing along to the lyrics and Hubby just keeps laughing every time he hears me hit play again. =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

