Temporarily Preoccupied With A Different Richie

ADifferentRichie

“Big Dick Richie” (Joe Manganiello) in what has to the best scene in Magic Mike XXL…

Yesterday we sort of closed work a few minutes early so we could all attend a very special, uniquely educational presentation. Or something like that. Oh, okay, okay…  it was Magic Mike XXL at the matinée. I’m just going to come right out and say it… we all loved it. Two of our group had already been to see it once, but wouldn’t hear of missing out on a second round, and now I see why. In addition to some truly exceptional, if highly sexualized hip hop-style dancing, the movie was really geared for humor in a way that the first film wasn’t. My favorite character was that of “Big Dick Richie”, played by an actor I admit I’d never paid much attention to before: Joe Manganiello. Now that I’ve IMDB’d this guy, it looks like I may need to dive into True Blood, where it seems he played some kind of werewolf for the last several seasons. I just really need some more of that. Funnily enough, I had seen him once before, when my surgery tech accidentally pulled him up at the 1 hour 56 minute mark while googling Shirtless Richard Armitage images… I remember being inspired despite myself, though I told her she sucked at identifying Richard.

ADifferentRichie2

I’d watch the whole movie again just for this scene! See the woman in the background… his goal is to get her attention, and somehow make her day. Um, I’m pretty sure this would make MY day…

Best scene in the movie, shown briefly in the trailer, was when on the road trip, this other Richie of mine, this aging male entertainer, is suddenly struck with a lack of confidence that he has any new material to bring to the show at the upcoming male stripper convention. Magic Mike, played by Channing Tatum, urges him to imagine that the only thing of importance is to make a woman’s day, and as the melt-down happens at a pit stop, the men all notice there is one very dour-looking woman alone in the store, manning the cashier’s station. She’s frowning down at her phone, not having noticed the rather amazing entourage that has pulled into the parking lot and exited the vehicle. Mike and the others encourage Richie to just go in that store, and make her day, with any sort of freestyle routine that might cause her frown to turn into a smile. Needless to say, what ensues is just a hilarious scene. I won’t give away whether or not she notices him and/or smiles….

 

We’re… ah… doing a bit of rearranging and making some space on the fridge for some new, inspirational material…

JoeMFridge

25 comments

  1. frauvonelmdings · July 17, 2015

    I somehow lost interest in ‘True Blood’ after season 4 (and season 2 was crap) … but Joe as Alcide was definitely eye-candy 😉 … and Rutina Wesley (Reba in Hannibal) had a good part in ‘True Blood’ too (at least before she *spoilerspoiler*)

    Like

    • jholland · July 17, 2015

      I don’t generally go for the vampire/werewolf genre… but I do think I owe it Joe to give it a try! Looks like he doesn’t show up until later seasons, so if need be, I can skip some episodes. LOL

      Liked by 2 people

      • frauvonelmdings · July 17, 2015

        I have to confess that Alexander Skarsgard was my favorite vampire on the show – although I normally don’t ship the blond viking type 😉

        Liked by 2 people

        • Mimi Cruz · July 18, 2015

          I agree with you on that sentiment, but Joe Manganiello is my favorite werewolf 😀

          Liked by 2 people

      • Mimi Cruz · July 18, 2015

        He is worth the effort 😀

        Like

        • jholland · July 18, 2015

          I can well believe it. And, yeah… A.S. is not exactly hard on the eyes in the meantime….

          Liked by 1 person

        • Mimi Cruz · July 18, 2015

          hahaha NO he is not difficult to lose time on at all 😀

          Like

  2. frauvonelmdings · July 17, 2015

    But it’s a really gory show full of sex and blood 😉 actually the most artistic thing are the opening titles – google them, they are really special!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jholland · July 17, 2015

      I wouldn’t expect anything less than sexy and gory from an HBO show… and I did check out the opening credits… yikes. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Esther · July 18, 2015

    From the pictures alone, this guy seems a bit… much… to me, but hey, looking never hurts. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Esther · July 18, 2015

      Oh, and the dog in the picture collage is priceless!! 🙂

      Like

      • jholland · July 18, 2015

        Fridge rules… all contributions must include puppies and kittens… LOL

        Like

    • jholland · July 18, 2015

      LOL. A bit much… too true. Overwhelming. =)

      Like

  4. Mimi Cruz · July 18, 2015

    I have trouble sticking with shows, mostly because I forget they are on. Took forever, years really to finally see the first season of RH1 and I was trying after the 2nd season started. True Blood got my attention with Joe Manganiello, good grief, I even tried saving it on DVR but failed. This guy is like married or hooked up with a woman my hubs has the hots for, or at least he keeps bringing her up all the time, but now I forgot her name again. (sigh) Anyway, can I watch these movies without the sound? Or is the dialog well done? 😀

    Like

    • jholland · July 18, 2015

      LOL… well, I suppose you could watch without the sound, though it might be hard to appreciate the choreography quite as much without any music. And the dialogue in Magic Mike XXL was funny! First movie I could take it or leave it, but the sequel was well worth it. =) Joe Manganiello was beyond well worth it. LOL

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mimi Cruz · July 18, 2015

        I was disappointed with the first one especially with the few instances of Joe in it, but if you felt the second one is better, I’ll give it a chance. Still, I’m gonna have some of my True Blood comics with Joe on the cover close by, just in case I have to remind myself why I’m watching the show. heh 😀

        Like

        • jholland · July 18, 2015

          He gets a lot more screen time in the second movie. You’ll have to let me know what you think. All I know is, we all loved it and had a fantastic time! Although our ovaries are very tired from the workout….

          Liked by 1 person

        • Mimi Cruz · July 18, 2015

          It sounds like I won’t be able to convince the hubs to go to that, so after work, I might have to ditch the hubs & brother with the kids tomorrow after dinner and to indulge a ‘girls movie’ instead. Hmm

          Liked by 1 person

        • jholland · July 18, 2015

          Funny, I was sort of thinking of doing the same. I’m already nagging my cousin about going with me… and if that fails, probably any and every one of the ladies at work would volunteer… =)

          Liked by 1 person

  5. linnetmoss · July 19, 2015

    I love it that their idea of success is making a woman happy. And Mister Richie seems to have a serious work ethic 🙂 I actually got hooked on Alcide in the books that inspired True Blood. He’s a great character. The show itself begins to pall after a few seasons but it definitely offers a great deal of visual pleasure. PS: Love the puppy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jholland · July 19, 2015

      LOL… yes, he really works hard in that convenience store… it’s extremely admirable… *coughs* If you ever get around to checking out MMXXL, you’ll have to let me know what you think!
      Re: puppy… that’s kind of the same look I probably have when I look at this man. Sigh. LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hariclea · July 22, 2015

    i love the puppy 🙂 as to making me happy i’d take a few good hours of actual dancing, especially if it involves Latinamerican rhythms 🙂 But i hope it made for an interesting day for the women in the store :-p

    Like

    • jholland · July 22, 2015

      Well, we’ve talked it over and decided we all do need to a comprehensive review of this interesting material. We’re going again Friday evening. Latin American rhythms… well, there was a lot of hip work in the dancing. *snickers*

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

