In Which JHolland Consults A Horoscope!

magic-mike-1-800

So yesterday, my surgery tech came into my office with an announcement.

* * *

“We’re all going to a Lunch-and-Learn presentation tomorrow afternoon. Are you interested in coming along?”

“Nah. That’s my afternoon off. I just renewed my license and have a whole year to worry about the next 20 CE credits. Besides, I probably have important Richarding to do.”

“Are you sure? Because it sounds like a really interesting presentation topic, and I think they serve hot dogs.”

“I said I have important Richarding to do! And hot dogs? They could sure do better than hot dogs!”

“You’re so apathetic, Doc. Don’t you even care what the topic is?”

“What is it?”

“It’s about pheromones that make bitches more… reproductively receptive….”

“Huh. That is a new one. Still… I hate repro stuff. But hot dogs… I get it, now!”

“No, you really don’t.”

“I don’t?”

“The presentation is at the Moore Warren Theatre and it’s about 2 hours and 10 minutes long….”

“Oh? Oh! We’re going to see Magic Mike XXL?! Of course I’m in!”

 * * *

Yep, so we’re all going to go learn about reproductive receptivity pheromones from Channing Tatum and company this very afternoon! In light of this scheme, I found it rather funny when last night, suffering from a bout of insomnia, I read a post by Servetus that included a couple of Horoscopes (one for RA and one for Servetus) that seemed to be spot on for both of them.

Now, I’m well aware that many people consult horoscopes. I’ve never done so on any regular basis. Maybe once in a while, in the days before I had a smart phone to entertain me, if I was severely hard-pressed for a diversion, I might glance at a horoscope in the newspaper abandoned nearby, after first perusing the funnies… rarely did I see a horoscope prediction for Sagittarius or any other sign that seemed anything other than vaguely applicable to probably just about anyone. I’ve never really understood the attraction of horoscopes, but hey… to each his own, I always think.

But last night, bemused, I decided to check my horoscope from the link helpfully provided by Servetus, since it seems the astrologer was firing on all cylinders for Servetus and Richard. I have to say, in light of my planned Magic Mike XXL excursion… I had to laugh:

sexyhoroscope

Could be this is Hubby’s lucky week. LOL =)

40 comments

  1. Servetus · July 16, 2015

    especially after that continuing education, because you’ve gotta blow off the frustration somewhere!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jholland · July 16, 2015

      Ok, so shoot me, but I just enjoyed the hell out of that… that… whatever that was. LOL

      Astrologer says “To get exactly what you want, you must know exactly what you want.” Um, do I have to choose? I think I discovered several things I want! *snickers* =)

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Guylty · July 16, 2015

    Saw the preview of Mike XXL when I was in the cinema with son to see Mad Max. Neither of us copped on that it was an actual film – we thought it was an ad for a mysterious product… So what were they selling?

    Liked by 2 people

    • jholland · July 16, 2015

      Well, Guylty, I guess I’d have to say they were selling a little something for everyone. Or a whole lotta something for everyone. Everyone with functional ovaries, that is! =) Let’s just say I’ve never been to a movie theatre showing where there was 3/4 of the theatre full yet Not One Single man in attendance. And never have I heard quite so raucous a crowd at the movies, either. Laughter, squees and catcalls, and as far as I know, nobody was drunk at noon on a Thursday. =)

      It’s not exactly strong on plot, but nobody really cares about the plot. *snickers*… basically a group of male entertainers (strippers) go on one last road trip to attend a stripper convention in Myrtle Beach (notorious party town)… before they retire. It’s pretty damn funny, at least when in the boisterous company of other women. The dancing is… WOW. I thought it was much better than the original. LOL

      Like

      • Servetus · July 16, 2015

        I’ve read in a couple of places that they estimate the audience for the film is 97% women.

        Liked by 1 person

        • jholland · July 16, 2015

          Yes, and the general consensus when it was over was something like “We really need to review this material again. What time is the next showing?” LOL

          Liked by 1 person

        • Mimi Cruz · July 18, 2015

          that means I’ve got no chance of dragging the hubs to it, heh

          He wants to take me to the Van Halen with David Lee Roth concert tonight, which I want to do, but I would have asked to go to see Magic Mike XXL now

          Liked by 1 person

    • jholland · July 16, 2015

      I should add that, the first (and only) time I saw the original Magic Mike, it was on DVD at our ladies’ retreat. It took several hours to get through it, with all the rewinding going on. =)
      https://preoccupiedwitharmitage.wordpress.com/2014/10/26/an-old-fashioned-wiener-roast/

      Liked by 1 person

  3. linnetmoss · July 17, 2015

    I haven’t seen this or the original. Male strippers actually make me uncomfortable, but I like the story idea of a group who are about to retire. It would be interesting to look into what their own perception of their work is and how they are different from (or similar to) female strippers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jholland · July 17, 2015

      Well, I doubt I’d have seen the original if it weren’t for the girls insisting that we watch it on the ladies’ retreat, and honestly, I had enough alcohol in me that I really have no concept of what the plot was other than broad overview: a male stripper who wants to get out of the life. We sure weren’t rewinding any of the scenes with dialogue… LOL. And probably being in the presence of actual male strippers would make me uncomfortable, too- I’ve never seen one in person. =) The second movie was IMO much better than the first because there was a lot of comedy involved, and I thought the dancing/choreography was better. Very, er… stirring! I’m sure Magic Mike XXL will have a large share of detractors, but all I can say is, I’d definitely watch it again, and maybe even on the big screen, especially if I could go again with the ladies. It was just so much fun, what with all the laughter, gasps, squeals and (sometimes shouted) asides… “Look at all the ladies carrying pickles in here!” and “I may have just ovulated 7 times!” and “Watch yourself tonight or you’ll have septuplets!”

      Like

      • linnetmoss · July 17, 2015

        I love the idea of the comedy! And I’m not sure why the male stripper thing leaves me cold in terms of libido, since I really enjoyed “The Full Monty.” I think it may be the anonymity of it. A generic hot bod just isn’t enough. Though theirs are certainly impressive… and I really liked Channing Tatum in “Stop Loss” which had Mr. H. as his father (playing a Texan, somehow he managed it but I never want to see him in a cowboy hat again, LOL).

        Liked by 1 person

        • jholland · July 17, 2015

          It was funny enough that I almost think Hubby would enjoy it. Not the first movie- that one was a lot more “serious”… this one somewhat makes fun of itself and was just a fun one all around! And yeah, Channing Tatum is a decent actor and a fabulous dancer. But it was Joe Manganiello who stole the show for me.

          Liked by 1 person

        • linnetmoss · July 18, 2015

          Oh yes, he played Alcide in “True Blood.” He is shockingly Beautiful. And very manly. I think he’s going to age well, better than Channing Tatum.

          Liked by 1 person

        • jholland · July 18, 2015

          Shockingly beautiful… YES! I watched the first episode last night- quite a ways to go before he makes his appearance but I AM MOTIVATED! lol He’s almost unbearably sexy in Magic Mike XXL. =)

          Liked by 1 person

        • linnetmoss · July 19, 2015

          I must say you have piqued my interest in that film! It’s true, if you’re just starting with TB you’ve got a long way to go. But there is the consolation of Alexander Skarsgard…

          Liked by 1 person

        • jholland · July 19, 2015

          Yes… it seems I’m glomming. I think I’m up to episode 7 or 8 now and I’ve had a few tantalizing glimpses of A.S., and actually, Bill Compton isn’t terribly hard on the eyes, either. =)

          Liked by 1 person

        • linnetmoss · July 20, 2015

          Yes, Bill’s good too. The best thing about the show is all these great men 🙂

          Like

        • Mimi Cruz · July 18, 2015

          I’m just guessing, but I suspect Alcide/Joe is older than Channing Tatum, so he has already aged well.

          Liked by 1 person

        • jholland · July 18, 2015

          Oh, yes he has.

          Liked by 1 person

        • linnetmoss · July 19, 2015

          Joe is 38, Channing is 35. But Channing still has that boyish, almost girly pretty look. It’s pleasing, but I usually don’t go for it, though I always savored Brad Pitt and his stunning resemblance to Redford.

          Liked by 2 people

        • jholland · July 19, 2015

          I’m so with you… occasionally the boyish look is pleasing, and I think Pitt is aging better than most boyishly handsome men. Channing is hot, but it’s mostly his build that I like. Joe, on the other hand… whew!

          Liked by 1 person

        • Mimi Cruz · July 20, 2015

          Wait a second, did you mean to say, favored? 😈

          Liked by 1 person

        • linnetmoss · July 20, 2015

          No, savored 🙂 I have a habit of using food vocabulary when it comes to men… but favored would do just as well!

          Liked by 1 person

        • Mimi Cruz · July 20, 2015

          Hahaha, just checking on the word you meant to use. So, er, did I mention, I used to work for Robert Redford? He was nice to work for, however, I never found him favorable in the way you savor him. heh

          Liked by 1 person

        • linnetmoss · July 21, 2015

          Ah, but when was this? If it was in the 70s I fail to see how any woman could not be dazed by his Beauty (oddly imperfect when you look closely, but there you are). If it was after he had whatever cosmetic surgery caused him to look like a completely different person, I’m not surprised… he doesn’t look right to me, any more.

          Liked by 3 people

        • Mimi Cruz · July 22, 2015

          Not the 70s, the 80s, but I have to admit, that while his looks fall right into the ‘type’ that appeals to me in general terms, and although he is taller than I am, it isn’t by much. Not to mention that I was a size six/seven in those days, that when he decided to throw out his old jeans, the girls in the office all wanted to have them. In theory, it was a great way to score some quality jeans, but he was too small! Not only could I not fit in any of them, no one could. Disappointing to say the least. I was also dating a variety of what I would say were really handsome guys at that time. Not that I could ever be bothered to remember everyone’s names, but I was also only 18yrs old and the guys I was dating were generally about 10 years older, they didn’t look it, nor did any of them seem that much older. Redford was, don’t hate me for saying this, too old? There were other actors, directors, and celeb types I would interact with, the only old man I found attractive at the time, but would never have dated because also in the old man category, was William Devane. I did not really know anything about him or his career at the time, but for a few months, he would sit on my desk and talk Hemingway with me. I hate not having stuff to read and at the time, I had finished a few papers on Hemingway stories, but enjoyed the writing so much, I was going through the Nick Adams stories for about the 5th or 6th time just for fun. I admit, I was shallow, hell, I still sort of am when it comes to who I allow to be close to me, much less touch me. ha Redford was always pleasant and I never felt uncomfortable around him, except for that one time he caught me ditching work 20min early, but he didn’t fire me for it. Speaking of odd features that should not be attractive, I would have to say the person that has pulled me into this fandom takes the cake for that sentiment. Big weird ears, big nose, thin lips, I could go on, but for some reason the combination works in his favor for more than a few people here. haha

          Liked by 2 people

        • linnetmoss · July 23, 2015

          Thanks for sharing your experience. I think it would be different, meeting Redford in person, from seeing him all glamorous on the silver screen. I did not realize he is only 5 foot 10–but then so was Paul Newman 🙂
          I suppose I must have perceived men over 40 as “really old guys” when I was 18. But I always liked them older, so much so that I swore off older men because it seemed kind of weird. When I met my husband, he looked my age, so I thought nothing of it. Then I found out he was thirty–practically a fossil, LOL!
          William Devane is a good actor. I always enjoyed seeing him on TV.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Mimi Cruz · July 23, 2015

          It is weird how when you are a teen, anyone older than 30 is old, so 40 is like plan the funeral age. Wow – Back to Mr Redford, don’t get me wrong, he was a handsome man, it just didn’t affect me or maybe I should say interest me? But then again, maybe if he sat on my desk everyday for months on end, I would have been interested? But he was still too old like Devane, who was probably humoring me because really, I don’t imagine I could have had that great of an insight to Hemingway’s work. What I did have had to be heavily influenced by teachers (not a bad thing) because I couldn’t have been mature enough to appreciate his writing like I do as I’ve gotten older. I remember reading North and South in a social studies class, boring, snooze, blah. But when I read it again as an adult. . . . what a difference life experience makes to one’s appreciation of, well everything. I think I’m way more appreciative of literature, film, and art as I’ve gotten older. And men, I appreciate older men now, like Manganiello, 😈

          Liked by 1 person

        • linnetmoss · July 24, 2015

          Mangianello is an “older man”? LOL. It’s all in one’s perspective, isn’t it. These days if a man is 25, I might appreciate his good looks but I don’t find him sexy because he seems like a child. But I get a laugh when I see young women online talking about Ciarán Hinds and how they have an “old man” crush on him. It freaks them out a little. I think it just means that if someone is very charismatic, that doesn’t just evaporate as they age. It’s not all about looks.
          And as for RA, he strikes me as very good looking in a classical way, but individual enough so that he’s distinctive rather than bland.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Mimi Cruz · July 24, 2015

          Distinctive rather than bland, I think that is a perfect description. You are right, it is about perception, Manganiello (I never know if I’m spelling his name right) seems older because he strikes me as a ‘man’ and so many men in film, while striking or handsome or whatever, don’t seem like men. Even as they age, don’t achieve that ‘man’ status in my eyes. I don’t know why it interests me, these attractions are what they are, but sometimes I can’t help but want to analyse and dissect the reasons. Must be gender related because, in my experience, most guys do not do this.

          Liked by 1 person

        • linnetmoss · July 25, 2015

          I am fascinated by your definition of “man.” I have a similar feeling about it. Maybe it’s because our culture prefers actors whose facial features are slightly androgynous (“boyishly handsome”) and therefore not as masculine.

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Temporarily Preoccupied With A Different Richie | preoccupiedwitharmitage
  5. zeesmuse · July 17, 2015

    Uhm… I’m a Sag too and I’ve yet to meet a man I couldn’t wear out…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mimi Cruz · July 18, 2015

    I love how women watch male strippers, it is always upbeat, loud and fun, I’ve never seen it be uncomfortable. On the other hand, the few times I’ve been in traditional strip clubs, it is always like watching sharks or lions observing prey. The men are always quiet and focused while many of them are attempting to look like they are not really paying attention. Oh, that reminds me of a funny incident with a well known in the comic industry anyway, writer, doing an interview with a lesbian reporter I had arranged, and my hubs.

    Like

    • jholland · July 18, 2015

      I’ve never been to either sort of strip club, so I’m not one to make an observation. But yes, the atmosphere at the movie was really quite celebratory! LOL. What funny incident? =)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mimi Cruz · July 18, 2015

        I’m actually looking for some images from that weekend, but it has to do with an artist appearance. Part of my job is to organise publicity, interviews, that sort of thing. I had a local reporter ask if she could interview this writer, when she was speaking to me, one of my regulars at the comic store volunteered to have the interview take place in one of the two strip clubs he is the general manager for. The reporter, just happened to be working for a gay/lesbian mag and thought it was a great idea. I feel bad for strippers, most (never heard where one has not) have suffered abuse as children, which in turn put them in the mind-set to find that work acceptable. Unfortunately for this artist, he started testing me, pranks that sort of thing, shortly after we met in 1990 but never succeeded. He is extremely talented, but his ‘man-tricks’ don’t work on me and I turned the dynamic around on him from the start. For the record, it frustrates him that he has never, ever gotten over on me. hahaha He will keep trying, but it always comes when I am not expecting it, so there is no way for me to be prepared. The fact that he has never succeeded makes me laugh maniacally. I never seek to torment him. I admire and support his talent. However, for some reason, I have witnessed countless humiliating incidents where he either instigated it, or it innocently just worked out that he is horribly embarrassed with someone else and I just happened to see it all go down. The small industry I work in also talks amongst itself. I’m not a gossip, but love a funny story. Even though I’ve not repeated most all of the humiliating occurrences I’ve witnessed happen to this artist. I know it annoys him because I hear back from other men what he says about my always seeming to catch him with his pants down, figuratively speaking of course. It is funny, but not sure everyone else will find it as amusing as I and industry colleagues do. I’ll draft out the ‘strip-club’ incident and see what the hubs thinks. The writer in question wrote the work that the television show ONCE is based on, although the tv series did not follow his storyline at all. (I say that based on only having watched the first episode, but having read most everything he has ever written.) I hardly ever think about it, but for some reason, Magic Mike talk and strip clubs eventually triggered the memory. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Hariclea · July 22, 2015

    aha, good to know it was funny, town was plastered with posters of it… Funny, i’ve never found these perfectly honed bodies interesting in any kind of titillating way. Just like i don’t find such wholesome beauty interesting either. I mean it is nice and pleasing to the eye and i am sure requires a lot of hard work, but to me it is like a lifeless statute of sorts. The only one in the category i ever found remotely interesting was Pitt, and mostly only once he got older. Especially in photos or pictures they just leave me indifferent, i need the voice, the personality to find someone really interesting 🙂 And just prefer more individually looking men, much less perfect features and all that 😉
    But i would watch if it was good comedy 🙂

    Like

    • jholland · July 22, 2015

      Yes, it was good comedy! There is just something about that Joe M. that I find terribly attractive… there were a number of “perfectly honed bodies” in MMXXL but he was the only one who had me practically panting. I guess I like my male strippers aged just right and with a nice big… nose. LOL

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

