What Are The Odds? Boldly Becoming Shrine Arrived on Hannibal-Eve!

 

 

 

Tonight’s the night for those of us in North America… Hannibal Season 3 Premieres on NBC at 10pm/9pm Central! So how fortuitous was it that yesterday, on Hannibal Eve, I received a package from the amazingly talented CEO of RAPS, Inc. herself, complete with not one, but two, of the very subtle and stealthy bright pink “Armitage Army Shrine Division” stickers which may or may not have attracted the attention of my office manager, who became even more inquisitive this morning after I asked if anyone had a lighter or a match.

shrine1a

My loot! Can’t think of a better way to mark the premiere of Hannibal S3 than lighting the candles on this exclusive, first-ever RAPS of Francis Dolarhyde!!

Ah, Guylty… so lovely of you! Yes, I was the very happy and lucky winner of her glamorous and very comical Boldly Becoming Shrine from the RAPS for Charity Auction #1. Guylty also included a kind and humorous hand-written note on handcrafted Guy-décor stationary, a key chain with Richard’s handsome visage, and a framed photograph by the wonderful photographer herself from the Berlin Premiere of DOS. Oh! And some Armitage-themed magnets which I put right onto the fridge and forgot to include in my photo! I’m blown away!

I do fear for the fate of the hapless postal workers involved in the Ireland-to-Oklahoma transit of the shrine, should Francis Dolarhyde ever find out that the very cute dragon on his back became dislodged! Or if he should learn that a few of the sparkly red blood-colored hearts surrounding his powerfully winged figure had fallen down. Thankfully, his precious masterful toothpaste was not disturbed, or I’d shudder to contemplate the consequences for the postal carrier community!

I *did* run into a problem yesterday when I tried to assemble the golden candles I meant to light in honor of that fine ass The Fearsome One. One of the candles just would not stand up, so I was forced last night to casually ask Hubby to produce a bit of the putty he uses to get his fine mineral specimens to stand just so in the display case….

* * *

“Do you have any of that putty you use in the mineral cabinet?”

“Yeah, I have some. What do you need it for?”

“Ah… I need it to help something little to stand up straight.”

“What little thing do you need to stand up straight?”

“Hmmm. It’s at the clinic. Just a little… thing I have.”

“What thing?”

“It’s just a little candle. At the clinic.”

“What?”

“A candle.”

“At the clinic?”

“Yep.”

Contemplative Silence.

“And the candle’s for…what exactly?”

Stubborn Silence. Wide, innocent gaze on my part.

“Why do I get the feeling this has something to do with Richard Armitage?”

“Ah… yep.”

“You’re what- lighting a candle for him for some reason?”

“You must know?”

“I’m dying to know.”

“It’s a RAPS. That stands for a Richard Armitage Pocket Shrine. From another blogger. From Ireland.”

“A ‘pocket shrine’.”

“That’s right. A Richard-Armitage-as-Francis-Dolarhyde-in-Hannibal Pocket Shrine. With little candles. Needing putty.”

“Right.”

The cynical Eyebrow lifts.

Sheepish Hopeful smile on my part.

“So! The putty?”

After a moment, he shakes his head, but smiles.

“I’m on it.”

* * *

shrine2a

Absolutely appropriate for work. Right?

So! That was awkward went pretty well! You’ll notice I didn’t mention anything about the bidding. I made it to the clinic with my putty, and that did the trick. I then remembered I’d meant to bring along something to actually light the candles. Damn! I rummaged around by myself for awhile and when no matches or lighters presented themselves, I resorted to asking my office manager if she knew of any. Why is it I never know where anything is in my own clinic? Of course she did. She was the one I’d delegated to prepare the storm shelter for tornado season, and she’d included a couple of candles and a lighter in her plastic tub of necessities. So I rummaged around again in the storm shelter and came up with the lighter, and by then all the staff wanted to know what I was up to, reminding me how nosy they all are that they noticed I’d received a package from the Armitage Army Shrine Division, so they were invited to worship view the shrine and after they were done laughing at me were very appreciative of Francis’ ass assets.

It’s a wonderful day! And Guylty, HUGE thanks. You’re just awesome. =)

 

10 comments

  1. sparkhouse1 · June 4, 2015

    That shrine is the most beautiful object I have ever seen in my life. I covet your pocket shrine.

    Like

    • jholland · June 4, 2015

      Isn’t it just the best thing ever? As I told Guylty, I bid on both the FD shrine and the choose-your-own shrine and if I hadn’t won my first choice, my backup plan was to win the other one and I’d have commissioned Francis anyway! (Can’t wait to see what the winner of the choose-your-own shrine ordered up!) =)

      Like

  2. suzy · June 4, 2015

    Congratulations! to this wonderful little art work of a gifted artist 🙂 Have a lot of fun with this ‘jewel’!

    Like

    • jholland · June 4, 2015

      It is a masterpiece! It’s bringing smiles every time I glance (then stare) at it! =)

      Like

  3. Helen · June 4, 2015

    Howls of laughter from over the pond… I love your conversations with your (very patient) husband 🙂

    Yup, that shrine is pretty awesome 😀

    Like

    • jholland · June 4, 2015

      Yes, the concept of a shrine to RA was a bit of a sticky wicket! =)

      Like

  4. Guylty · June 4, 2015

    Aw, J – thank you for the nice words 🙂 And I am really annoyed that the shrine was damaged in transit. I had actually worried about the little hearts coming off. The dragon is easy enough to repair, but the horns, the horns… Drat! I am really sorry about that, and I hope you will nonetheless enjoy this pocket mood-booster.
    And LOL at the conversation with the hubs – and the inadvertent deeper outing to the staff. Hehe, I shouldn’t have stuck those stickers on the envelope. Maybe I should stop that altogether – inconspicuous brown envelopes from now on, with no indication what may be inside. I really do not want to be responsible for marital rifts, anywhere… (Or maybe the appropriate reaction would be to stop shrining altogether? It has the potential to upset innocent eyes, and I wouldn’t want to be responsible for that, either.)
    So where are you keeping the Red Dragon RAPS now – secure and hidden from prying eyes?

    Like

    • jholland · June 4, 2015

      Fear not… the horns are fine! I agree they don’t show well in my pic, but they’re undamaged! Never fear… I will get those sparkly hearts back into position, too! And as to the stickers on the envelopes… I suppose that would be up to the recipient but they didn’t bother me. The ladies all know I’m deep into Armitage fandom and while they *were* dying to know what it meant, I assure you nobody was surprised when I revealed FD. =) And I have just checked with Hubby to see if we have a marital rift over the pocket shrine, and he pondered it for a moment and asked, “Would you like to?” =) So shrine on, Guylty! Lol. I’m keeping it in my office on an upper shelf, as my one concern would be the kids getting an eyeful… they stop by occasionally so it’s up high where they’d really have to be creative to get up and see it. =)

      Like

  5. Helen · June 4, 2015

    Don’t you dare stop shrining, Guylty – unless you finally get bored, of course 😉

    Like

    • jholland · June 4, 2015

      Yes. Your shrine reveals are always a highlight of my day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

