I Mean To Please You, JHolland

redbuds

Redbud trees… so beautiful. We have too many to count on our land.

You remember when John Proctor announces to Elizabeth that he means to buy John Jacobs’ heifer if the crop is good? I think an affectionate husband enjoys bringing home an offering to please his wife. On or about the first week of April every year, when the redbud trees are first blooming, if we’ve had a nice rain followed by a couple of warm days, mine goes hunting for my favorite delicacy… the morel mushroom!

 

 

RosieMorel1

Rosie must have been underfoot on the morel hunt. I spy two of the little gems….

For years now, Hubby has been braving the ticks and the chiggers to tromp around in the wooded areas near our home to find morels, and in the tradition of every sensible morel hunter, he’s quite secretive about his haunts. Whenever he finds fresh ones, Hubby offers them to me, and we have quite the amazing hors d’oeurves that evening. Whenever he finds over-ripe or bug-ridden ones, he collects those, too, and tosses them in the wooded area on our property, hoping that eventually, some fungal spores will create the mycelium of morel goodness on our land.

Today, I received this image in a text message from Hubby…. knowing that he’s unlikely to have taken our cat along on a wild mushroom outing… I realized with joy that his efforts have finally proven fruitful and we must have our own little morel patch of deliciousness right on our land!! This does, indeed, please me. =)

 

spring

Yes, John… and so is Oklahoma. Though I’d rather have a patch of morels than a heifer…

That is all.

8 comments

  1. Hariclea · April 3, 2015

    Much better than a cow 🙂 What a lovely thing and they are soo tasty!!! Enjoy!

    And have a Happy Easter too! x

    Like

    • jholland · April 4, 2015

      They are one of life’s many pleasures… I expect he’ll be off to look for more today. The stomach growls in anticipation! Happy Easter to you, as well. I expect we’ll be coloring eggs this afternoon.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. linnetmoss · April 4, 2015

    What a beautiful post in so many ways. I especially love the cat plus morel pic 🙂 And the redbuds, wow! We have them in Ohio but I’ve not seen any blooming yet.

    Like

    • jholland · April 4, 2015

      I love that pic, too… this cat makes every step we make when we’re working outside. No surprise she’d be right in the mix on the morel mission. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Esther · April 5, 2015

    Ha! Wonderful! Congratulations on the mushrooms. 🙂 And lovely pictures too!

    Like

  4. Servetus · April 5, 2015

    I think Spring is beautiful everywhere except in parts of the world like mine that apparently have no seasons. I *so* miss the prospect of a northern spring right now … here spring is heralded primarily by an upsurge in pollen. I am totally excited about your fungus! That is really, really wonderful news. What a guy.

    Like

    • jholland · April 6, 2015

      Yes, spring is just wonderful. My dad lives near you and misses it, too. It’s funny how everything is more frisky. Today I saw a random donkey just cavorting by itself while I was stopped at a light on the way to work. I’ve never seen a donkey prancing and bucking and arching it’s neck like that. Should have thought to video it because it was pretty funny! And lol- when you put it that way… excited about your fungus… it does sound strange, but there you have it. =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

