Digital Theatre Responds to My Query

Well, as several stated, Digital Theatre did respond, and it would seem that the support staff guy, Jonathan Ware, is up and at ’em pretty early on a Monday, as I got the email at about Midnight Sunday. So thumbs up to him, and to his adept handling of my rather pissy letter. But thumbs down to the false advertising (in my perception, anyhow) on the part of Digital Theatre. As you’ll recall, I was unhappily surprised when I learned that for a purchase of either an SD or HD download of one of their productions, you have a one-time redemption code for viewing on the Samsung SmartTV. Of course, not many may even have this type of TV, so possibly only a small fraction of the fandom will be affected or disappointed as I am, but it does seem that the TV App is indeed a one-time deal, or at least, a 48 hour deal, and then it’s back to the computer viewing. Here’s Jonathan’s response:

Hi JHolland

Thanks for your note, and your useful feedback. I’ve forwarded this onto our Marketing Team to look into.

The current version of the our Samsung SmartTV app is the first time our productions have been available off the desktop and in the living room. As this is the first stage of the App’s roll out, the ability to view films on the SmartTV is a one-time bonus for anyone purchasing an SD or HD Download. As you’ll have read, upon redemption the production is available to view in your library for 30 days, with an active period of 48 hours upon the first playback. Within this period, you can you [suspect he meant “view”] the production as often as you like.

We hope to offer unlimited access to our productions through our Samsung SmartTV app in the future. In the meantime, your films remain available as always straight from DigitalTheatre.com, the Desktop Player and our IOS app.

Best
Jonathan


Jonathan Ware
Support Officer
DigitalTheatre.com

So it was a prompt reply, and a good job at placating a politely irate consumer, but the fact remains, it isn’t really represented as such on their website. Only after you actually attempt to stream to the TV do you find out that it’s a limited time frame, and therefore I think it would be best for them to change the wording on the website to reflect that it’s a “one-time bonus” rather than a regular feature. Here’s my response:

Well, thank you for responding, Jonathan. I’m disappointed, and think the website ought to make it clear that it’s a “one-time bonus” because it’s misleading. Only after I actually attempted to stream to the Samsung Smart TV App was I aware that there were to be any limitations. I do hope that DT will work out a new system, perhaps just making new redemption codes available when each expires, and even if that were to change the price, I would have willingly paid extra for the comfort and convenience of watching the TV compared to sitting at the computer while (no doubt repeatedly) viewing The Crucible. 
Thanks,
JHolland
P.S. Hope the servers don’t crash on Tuesday. The  Armitage fandom is pretty worked up! =)

 

SO… maybe time to shop laptops.

On the plus side, Hubby reacted to this new plan with merely a threat that he’ll be shopping for his fourth bass guitar if I proceed. LOL

19 comments

  1. Servetus · March 16, 2015

    Wow. Not impressed.

    Like

    • jholland · March 16, 2015

      I know. It’s a shame I campaigned so hard for this TV. We were already talking new TVs, but it turns out that any HD TV would have done, and we didn’t need the “smartTV” which is sooo much more expensive. I’d have rather spent the money on a less expensive TV and put the rest toward a laptop, since it appears that the laptop-HDMI-cable-to-TV option is going to have to suffice.

      Liked by 1 person

      • april73 · March 16, 2015

        I have already used this option to watch “Private lives” bought last year on Ditigal Theatre and its works perfectly. 🙂

        Like

        • jholland · March 16, 2015

          That’s a relief. Would really be just my luck to go all out on a laptop only to find out that doesn’t work, either. =)

          Like

  2. Pingback: If you’re buying The Crucible on screen for viewing on your Samsung SmartTV | Me + Richard Armitage
  3. Helen · March 16, 2015

    Well you can’t really blame DT for being in the development stage of a new bit of technology, though I agree their wording could be clearer. Glad they got back to you anyway and you may find they change their wording as a result.

    You can never have too many guitars 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • jholland · March 16, 2015

      Yes, and I think it’s possible that they’ll re-vamp the app in the future. It doesn’t seem like it would be hard to change the parameters from a one-time redemption code to multiple redemption codes… but what do I know?
      Hubby will be gratified to know that he can never have too many bass guitars. It seems to me that three is plenty, but I’m not really in a position to cast any accusations about fanatical pursuit of non-essential interests. LOL

      Like

  4. linnetmoss · March 16, 2015

    LOL. The Long Suffering Husband does the same thing… with bicycles and bike paraphernalia. He’s probably hoping a Ciarán Hinds movie will come out soon so he can have a new headlight.

    Like

  5. obscura · March 16, 2015

    That is something of a fall down on the part of the marketing department. I’m not sure how he does it, but there is apparently a wireless method my hubs has found to connect the iPad to our Vizio smart TV, so I’ll have to find something in DT library he’ll want to watch and put him on it. (That way he’s doing it for himself you see, and no new fishing rods enter the equation 😉 ) As always, when in doubt pull the HDMI cable out.

    I find that life now is a series of workarounds…I guess I’ll add this to the list, but still better than the alternative of not seeing the performance at all. (I’m working on my “cup is half full” perspective lately.)

    Liked by 2 people

    • jholland · March 16, 2015

      LOL… bass guitars, bike paraphernalia, fishing rods… seems they do get a few benefits from fandom wives. Yes, Hubby mentioned that he thinks there might be a device of some sort that mirrors the screen from other devices to the TV, but what device that is, we don’t know… Might be cheaper than a laptop, though, if we can figure it out. Even including whatever bass player toy might come along with the acquisition. =)

      Like

      • obscura · March 16, 2015

        I was just investigating this. We have a Roku streaming box, and fairly recently, the App Store Roku app was optimized to allow iDevice users to access their downloaded video files via the Roku to the TV screen.

        That may be two steps more tech than you wanted (there is a ridiculous amount of tech gear in this house), but an iPod Touch and a Roku box are definitely less $ than a decent laptop.

        Like

        • jholland · March 16, 2015

          We have a Roku. Hmmm… That’s definitely an option. No comparison between an iPod or even an iPad and the cost of a nice laptop with all the bells and whistles. Thanks, Obscura! Though it does make me wonder if there would be something similar for just a regular desktop?

          Liked by 1 person

        • obscura · March 16, 2015

          I’m not sure…it seems like linking PC’s always requires cables, but there may we’ll be something…I’m almost loathe to suggest it, but the easiest place to ask might be Best Buy since they deal in all three technologies. (Evil Retail Empire misgivings aside 🙂 )

          Like

  6. Perry · March 16, 2015

    I have experience with hooking up the laptop and with one cable and one connector it’s easy.. I would imagine that with the proper cables and ports, one could also hook up a desk top – but unless the desk top were close to the TV one would need move furniture and unhook everything attached to the desktop, and then move it – and that I have always found an horrendous task. I was one of those with cables and wires from speakers,and fax machines and printers and monitors so tangled up, that the job was a killer. I hope you watch it numerous times in 48 hours, and spring for a laptop in future. But I agree, it does seems like some false, or at least misleading advertising.

    Like

    • jholland · March 16, 2015

      Yeah… that’s just too much of a headache! Perhaps I’ll have a marathon. Calculating 14.5X in the 48 hours if I don’t eat, sleep or break for the bathroom… LOL

      Liked by 1 person

      • Perry · March 16, 2015

        You can always treat yourself and buy it again.

        Like

  7. richardtreehouse · March 16, 2015

    I watch TV from my laptop all of the time. It is extremely simple with an HDMI cable. If you have a Samsung Smart TV I’m sure it has an HDMI port. You just need a laptop (or even a tablet I believe) that has an HDMI port too. Kudos to you for figuring out the Smart TV. I have a Samsung Smart TV and gave up. The cable is much easier.

    I’ve talked more about this at my blog. I was getting carried away and didn’t want to take over your blog 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

