Limerick: In Honor of #TheCrucibleOnScreen

It was 6:00 AM when the alarm clock sounded
I yawned, checked my phone, and was instantly astounded!
“The Old Vic’s The Crucible – coming soon”
Right there in my inbox, and I was over the moon!
The announcement we’ve longed for… I finally found it!

I’ve never jumped out of my bed quite so fast…
Or danced into the bathroom… Hubby aghast!
I simply must explode
Into limerick mode
To celebrate this news at long last!

It’s coming! It’s coming! On March Seventeen…
The Crucible! John Proctor! The wash basin scene!
Just kidding, #onlyjoking
(I know that’s provoking)
I’m just overwhelmed to soon see this onscreen!

The news is everywhere now, on social media galore
Facebook and Twitter; Forums, Blogs and more
Is Digital Theatre prepared
Will servers crash when it’s aired?
Has an entire Army ever downloaded before?

I’d like to thank Digital Theatre and The Old Vic
For making it possible, with simply a click
For thousands to experience
Yael and Richard’s brilliance
And for providing me with such a fine morning kick!

Richard Armitage as John Proctor is well worth the wait…
My pleasure is heartfelt, and will not abate.
What a Day! What a Friday! We’ve waited so long!
I feel like dancing, singing, and ringing a gong…
Even knowing, as I do, that this play… devastates.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 comments

  1. June · March 6, 2015

    Yes. Yes! Yes!!!………(think Meg Ryan) 😀 Love the limerick!

    Like

    • jholland · March 6, 2015

      Has today been a great day, or what? Definitely limerick-worthy! And wine-worthy. Time to celebrate! =)

      Like

  2. suzy · March 7, 2015

    Yes, definitely limerick, wine, happy-feelings, dancing through the house ❤ worthy!
    Thank you for the nice limerick!

    Like

    • jholland · March 7, 2015

      You’re welcome! I did indeed open a bottle of wine, though I was the only one drinking it. I’ve made it through the day, now I think I’ll enjoy another glass or two!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hariclea · March 7, 2015

    great limerick! every time yesterday somebody new stumbled upon the news and did a happy dance it out a smile on my face all over again 🙂

    Like

    • jholland · March 7, 2015

      Yes, I think the general consensus was Joy! At last! (I will admit I did still drag my Hubby to his classroom and we watched it this afternoon… it was phenomenal. DT outdid themselves.) But I’m still sooooo happy I can watch it as often as I please without going to Hubby’s classroom in just a few short days!

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Servetus · March 7, 2015

    Lots of people should be happy!

    Like

    • jholland · March 7, 2015

      I’m eager for the influx of new insights and commentaries to come!

      Like

  5. linnetmoss · March 8, 2015

    Vicariously enjoying your happy dance 🙂

    Like

    • jholland · March 8, 2015

      LOL. It’s not that I never do happy dances, because I do occasionally… it’s the 6AM happy dance that was so mind boggling. Yep, I have it bad for Armitage. =)

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

