Busted! I Busted Myself, Actually…

busted

Love it when Hubby gives me the raised eyebrow… I get it a lot.

So the last two mornings, I was a bit disconcerted to see my WordPress stats page open in the browser, when I knew that I had closed all those blogging-related windows the night before. Hubby always gets up and around before I do in the mornings, and he enjoys a bit of computer time while he eats breakfast and has his coffee.

As some of you may know, Hubby has been blithely unaware of my blogging activities up until now. I haven’t told him specifically that I was blogging about Richard, and he’s assumed my activity was all on forums. I do read aloud my spoofs and dreams, but he didn’t know that was blogged material. It’s not that I’ve really tried to hide it from him. No browser history deleted, no blogging in incognito mode… but he’s just not naturally a snooper (like me) and he probably hears enough about Richard Armitage that he doesn’t seek out any Richard-related material that he knows I look at on my own time.

Anyway, back to this morning. After finding for the second day in a row that the WordPress Stats window was up, I figured the game was over. So when we passed each other on the highway as he was returning from dropping the kids off and I was heading out to work… I called him.

* * *

“I… ah…Β saw you found my WordPress stats!”

Silence. Then, “Your what?”

“My WordPress blog stats. You opened that window two days in a row.”

“I’m confused. What stats?”

“Oh. Well, there was a window open that I know I closed, and I thought you were looking at it.”

“What stats?”

“Nothing. Never you mind.”

“Now I’m curious. The browser restarted in the middle of the night and I ok’d it to start up the last browsing session. That’s all. What stats were these?”

“Well, crap. It doesn’t matter. You haven’t noticed anything up until now, but I thought you had. My bad!”

Silence. Then, “You know I’m dying to find out what you’re talking about, and I’m almost home.”

“My blog stats.”

“You have a blog now? Oh, is it that ‘Me and Richard’ blog? Are you famous or something?”

“No! No, that’s not my blog. I’m ‘Preoccupied with Armitage’ and I’m not at all famous.”

“Oh, I have seen that. That was you? I want to read it.”

“That’s really not necessary. Besides, I’ve read you my spoofs and my dreams already.”

“Your dreams are scarily detailed.”

“Yes.”

“Can I read it?”

“Hubby is almost as big of a tag as Richard Armitage. But you really don’t need to read it.”

“You don’t want me to read it?”

“I sometimes write limericks. I started it because I can’t say everything I want to say on forums. The moderators.”

“I’ll have to think of a punishment for you, now.”

“Yes, I suppose so.”

bass1

I’m told this one has six strings, and frets. I highly doubt I would have noticed. His fretless has the same shape, and the same type and color of wood grain. What fun he could have had on his forum…

“I might have to get a new bass.”

“You already have two basses.”

“It’ll be here tomorrow. Just to the music store… I want to check it out before I buy it.”

“Oh. When were you planning to tell me? Or were you just gonna get it and bank on me not noticing? Likely outcome.”

“I thought I’d just put it on the stand and see how long it took you to notice. There’s a big thread on TalkBass about how to hide basses from wives and I wanted to write about hiding one in plain sight.”

“Well, go for it. Don’t tell me if you end up with it, and we’ll see.”

“No. Too late for thatΒ now.”

“I know the feeling.”

* * *

Wonder if I’ll have a new commentator on the blog soon?

 

19 comments

  1. Helen · February 12, 2015

    ROFLMAO! Oh, that’s priceless πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Like

    • jholland · February 12, 2015

      It was inevitable. But, I was sort of wondering how long it would go unnoticed… might have been years!

      Like

  2. KellyDS · February 12, 2015

    LOL! well, better to out yourself then to be discovered when you’re not prepared for it! I told my husband about my blog after the third post or so, just to get that “you have a secret” monkey off my back. he’s subscribed but I don’t know how often he actually reads it. I’m stuck on the fact that your husband knew about the “Me and Richard” blog though, is he a lurker? πŸ˜€

    Like

    • jholland · February 12, 2015

      Lol. Well, he was reading over my shoulder (and laughing along) when I was helplessly giggling my way through Serv’s “Bible Thumping” spoof… And, I spend a lot of time reading Serv’s blog. He’s probably seen it when he passes the computer many a time. Lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Servetus · February 13, 2015

        I’m flattered, but I think “notorious” might be more accurate than famous πŸ™‚ And if you do this as long as I have, you will be famous yourself πŸ™‚

        Like

        • jholland · February 13, 2015

          Famous and notorious often go hand in hand… lol. But yes, even the world’s most clueless Hubby was able to name your blog, so we must conclude that you are Armitage-world famous!

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Esther · February 12, 2015

    Hahaha, priceless!!!!! Well, welcome hubby!

    Like

    • jholland · February 12, 2015

      He says he is waiting for explicit permission before he views it. Apparently the guilty vibes were rolling off me this morning. Lol

      Like

  4. Guylty · February 12, 2015

    Lol!!! You know, I can tell you from own experience that it is much easier to indulge in Richarding when the cat is out of the bag and you don’t have to be secretive anymore! Prepare for the onslaught of ribbing, of course. My hubs lives with permanently raised eyebrows, at this stage, and in return I get slagged off about RA at every opportunity, aling the lines of “a propos Armitage, have you taken the rubbish out yet?” or “So, on the open- ended Richard Armitage scale of sexual hotness, where do you place man-bags?” Actual quotes!!! Best thing – I love it when Mr Guylty ribs me, cos it means I can talk back about him *ggg*. Looking forward to uncompromised Richarding from you now…

    Liked by 2 people

    • jholland · February 12, 2015

      Yeah, it’s kind of a relief to have this out in the open, though Hubby is claiming that he did not rush home and peruse the blog. He’s apparently awaiting my go-ahead. Now what, I ask you? I told him to be ready for extensive fangirling. What else can be expected? Lol at your hubs… but what did he mean by man-bags? Like, a man purse or satchel? Or is it an anatomical feature? Lol

      Like

  5. linnetmoss · February 13, 2015

    LOL, you totally outed yourself! BTW he is really cute, with that raised eyebrow. I was kind of disappointed when the “punishment” turned out to be a bass guitar πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • jholland · February 13, 2015

      Tell me about it. I thought it might get interesting for a moment there, and I was all ears. Alas, just his own guilty conscience about his obsessive-compulsive bass guitar purchasing tendencies. =)
      I think he’s very cute with a raised eyebrow. I admit I aim to elicit that eyebrow elevation at every opportunity.

      Liked by 1 person

      • linnetmoss · February 14, 2015

        Hee, hee. You’ll just have to keep provoking him until he figures out that sterner measures are required πŸ™‚
        My favorite bassist is John Entwistle. Now, there was a man who looked like he could deliver a good spanking!

        Like

        • jholland · February 14, 2015

          Here’s where I admit that the only bass player I can name is Hubby. He knew the reference! I’ll take your word for it about the spanking part. =)

          Liked by 1 person

  6. Servetus · February 13, 2015

    Richard Armitage raises his eyebrow in just that way, lol πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • jholland · February 13, 2015

      Yes, and I’ve known Richard for such a short time. The eyebrow I’ve known for years. Maybe Hubby is onto something when he says the attraction is all because RA reminds me of him. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Servetus · February 13, 2015

    Smart hubby!

    Like

  8. Pingback: Hubby Googled Preoccupied With Armitage | preoccupiedwitharmitage
  9. Pingback: Just Concluded The Crucible Family Night | preoccupiedwitharmitage

Leave a Reply

