10 Days in Luncheon to Play with The Cruise Control

I have a six-year-old son, and like many other little (and ok, not-so-little) boys kids, he’s lately become rather obsessed with a gaming phenomenon called Minecraft, which I don’t know that much about. Hubby assures me that Minecraft is actually a pretty good game for the kid to be obsessed with, because it teaches visual-spacial recognition and allows the player to creatively build basically anything s/he can dream up, using various materials (dirt, rock, lava, obsidian, plants, even animals) that can be gathered and processed as building blocks or refined into useable building materials (wood, diamond, iron, leather, etc). I’m told there is even a Minecraft Club at his school, which he’s been begging to be allowed to join, so I have to acknowledge that educators must agree that this is a better than average game for youngsters. Anyway, the bottom line is, my young love is so obsessed with Minecraft, that when he’s not playing it himself, he spends his spare time watching others play Minecraft on YouTube. (I cannot imagine anything more boring than this pastime, but there you have it. He watches these YouTube Minecraft legends play their game. All. The. Time.)

The other night, I was eating a snack at the Computer, watching a clip from The Crucible, when the young love approached. He watched along with me, and asked what I was watching. It was the scene in Act 1 with Abigail and the other girls around Betty on the bed. I told him it was a play, The Crucible, and that I’d seen it when I went to London. He quickly responded that he liked to play Minecraft better than to play The Cruise Control, which seemed a bit of a non sequitur, but I’m really quite clueless about his video games, and I assumed there was some game called Cruise Control that wasn’t as fascinating to him as Minecraft, so I agreed with him, and got back to my Crucible-watching.

Fast forward to last evening, when the young love brought his tablet to the dinner table, apparently unable to tear himself out of the Minecraft world long enough to eat. I naturally admonished him that we don’t play video games at the dinner table, and he whined that it wasn’t fair. Puzzled, because this has always been the rule, and it applies to both kids, I asked what wasn’t fair.

You spent the longest luncheon ever playing The Cruise Control!”

I stared at him. “What are you talking about? I don’t play Cruise Control!”

“Yes, you do. I’ve seen you do it.”

“What? When?”

“You just always play The Cruise Control. And you spent the longest luncheon of anyone in the world doing it.”

What!? I don’t think so! I happened to have the shortest lunch ever- just a protein shake! And I do that every day! What are you talking about?”

“No, because in September before my birthday, that’s when you spent 10 days in luncheon. And I know you played The Cruise Control a bunch of times when you were there.”

Finally, I started to get the drift. Suddenly it all became quite clear… Hubby let out a whoop of laughter, coming to this realization just as I did.

In September, I did spend 10 days in London. And I did see a play called The Crucible more than once while I was there.

Maybe the young love needs a hearing aid. LOL

15 comments

  1. KellyDS · February 3, 2015

    he makes Cruise Control sound so naughty, LOL! my 10 year old loves Minecraft, btw. she spends every spare moment that we’ll let her either watching others play it on YouTube or Skyping her friends while they play it together.

    Like

    • jholland · February 3, 2015

      Haha… I shall have to go and edit that. Apparently not just boys addicted. Glad we’re not alone suffering through all these YouTube mods… =)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Esther · February 3, 2015

    Oh, this is priceless!! Lovely story!
    Btw, my 13 year old is playing Minecraft as we speak and my 11 year old likes it too!

    Like

    • jholland · February 3, 2015

      I guess there are worse things the kids could be doing… lol. And he was right, in some sense. I plan to unapologetically watch The Crucible every chance I get, whenever DT gets around to releasing the downloadable version! I’ll probably be rivaling his Minecraft obsession with my Cruise Control obsession… =)

      Like

  3. Sue · February 3, 2015

    Great story!! But I don’t think “young love” needs a hearing aid, and I think his understanding is spot on!😉
    Btw; my granddaughter plays Minecraft as well!!

    Like

    • jholland · February 3, 2015

      LOL- it has universal appeal, it seems. Perhaps we should form a club… we can call it LOCO-RAW-MAY. League Of Crucible-Obsessed Richard Admirers With Minecraft-Addicted Youth.

      Like

  4. Servetus · February 3, 2015

    LMAO!

    A lot of homeschoolers like Minecraft, too. Its addictive properties are apparently well known.

    Like

    • jholland · February 3, 2015

      I can attest to that! Even my 4 year old daughter likes to play. It’s interesting how it seems to be addictive to boys, girls, very young through teen and beyond. My favorite part was the 10 day luncheon, though. =) Talk about a feast!

      Like

  5. Perry · February 3, 2015

    Maybe I have you mixed up with someone else, but wasn’t it your kid who called Richard Armitage the Sparkle Fairy based on RA reading children’s stories?

    Like

  6. obscura · February 3, 2015

    Ah, those were the days. I cannot tell you how many oral dissertations I have heard over the years on how to get Link out of the the Hyrule spider cave or whatever Sound’s like Minecraft is to you what the Legend of Zelda was in our house! Have fun with that 🙂

    Those “misspeaks” are some of the things I remember most about when my kids were small. (my favorite was my son’s pronunciation of Piglet as Pliget….they predate my Armitage days though)

    Like

    • jholland · February 3, 2015

      LOL. I love the misspeaks, too. I think my number one favorite was one time when the young love asked his sister if she liked something he’d made or drawn. She looked it over critically and announced she didn’t like it. He turned to me and said, “Mommy, Sissy just burped in my bubble!” =)

      Like

  7. AnotherRAFan · February 9, 2015

    OMG . I have a 7 year old boy and he is obsessed with minecraft too. All he does is either play minecraft or watch the minecraft videos on you tube. I was planning to talk to someone because I thought he was getting weird. It’s actually a relief to know there are other kids out there who do the same thing.
    Also the little guy is the only one who knows how obsessed I’m with RA :). He also thinks Richard is the only good actor out there 😉

    Like

    • jholland · February 9, 2015

      You’re definitely not alone! I’ve actually had a welcome reprieve from Minecraft for the past 5 days after my kid had 2 “yellow days” in a row at school… borderline bad behavior resulting in loss of tablet and computer privileges for a week. He has 2 days to go before we are once again inundated. =)
      Re: Richard is the only good actor out there… seems a logical conclusion for the little guy to reach, especially if he has to compete with his mama for computer time, like mine does =)

      Like

Leave a Reply

