Limerick: Welcome to #Hannibal

dolarhyde

The past several days, it has come to my attention
That Armitage will be entering an entirely new dimension.
It seems his new role
Will be with the goal
To sicken and defy comprehension.

In fact, this news has caused admirers to reel…
With many unsure of just how to feel.
How so? One might ask
That would be quite a task…
But I assure you, your blood might congeal!

The casting announcement that caused such divide
Was for “The Tooth Fairy”… Francis Dolarhyde.
Welcome to Hannibal
That’s right! A cannibal!
The Great Red Dragon, and Evil Personified.

As this rhyme continues, spoilers and assumptions will follow…
Do stop reading now, if sharp teeth leave you hollow.
For Francis, I’ve learned
Is malevolent and turned
To a degree that some of us will not wish to swallow!

For one thing, he’s a killer, but it doesn’t stop there…
No, Francis, it seems, would raise anyone’s hair.
He murders whole families, together
When he’s off the tether
Not even children will this demented man spare…

I’ll believe this, because the show is so gory…
I’ve watched several episodes and it’s quite the story.
Horror presented with dark finesse:
Not my usual fare, I’ll confess.
But I’ll watch Dolarhyde, in all of his glory.

Tattoos have been mentioned, and for me that’s one draw.
I’ve no doubt that his body will leave me in awe…
As to his face
I may need my space
With sharpened teeth does this killer gnaw.

I don’t know about you, but I’ve always cringed
When I see modified teeth, I just feel unhinged!
So Francis’ bite
Is sure to be a sight
That will result in my eyes being singed.

I’ve also read, on his Wikipedia page
Of a cleft palate repaired, when he came of age…
So the makeup effects
Are interesting to project
Whether he’ll be handsome is so hard to gauge…

This brings an interesting question to mind:
Attractive or not, will my subconscious find
A soft spot for this ghoul
Despite all that is cruel?
Will he elicit empathy? We’ll see as it unwinds.

This morning on Twitter, I experienced a thrill…
heart-stopping moment that gave me a chill.
Imagining that voice
Gave me no choice
But to wonder if the lines will be delivered to one he will kill…

“You see me now, Yes.” And the terror will rise…
Looking into Francis Dolarhyde’s eyes.
“Do you feel me now? Yes.”
A killer’s caress…
It makes me dizzy even as it… Horrifies.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 comments

  1. Esther · January 15, 2015

    Oooh, very well done!! 🙂

    Like

    • jholland · January 15, 2015

      Thanks! Every now and then I just have to get a limerick out of my system. =)

      Like

  2. Guylty · January 15, 2015

    Fabulously done! Especially incorporating the tweet!

    Like

  3. Hariclea · January 15, 2015

    briliant!!!! it’s good to smile about it too after 2 days of scary stuff.. though it does get scarier when we start feeling ambivalent and strangely interested in it, i sort of yuk myself out going there mentally.

    Like

    • jholland · January 15, 2015

      LOL… yeah, I needed a lighter framework this morning. I think I’m obsessing a bit much. LOL. Can’t say I’m ambivalent, but the strangely interested is definitely happening for me. Hubby bailed for episode 5 but got drawn in again near the end of episode 6. His comment was that it makes him think too much, and the thoughts are too creepy to handle. They do like to mess with your mind.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

