Limerick: Richard’s Socks

socks1Seeing as how we watch Richard like hawks…
It would be hard not to notice he’s been wearing wild socks!
The past several days
He’s been drawing my gaze
Down to the socks that he rocks!

RA’s fashion choices have long interested me…
This is not the first little flourish to see.
These socks are quirky
But also quite perky
And I look forward to more wardrobe oddities.

I’ve lost track of the order of the wild socks I’ve seen:
Purple, magenta – they’re sure not routine!
Some were unique
But today’s made me freak
I guess argyle’s just not my scene. =)

I’ve seen him in shoes with no socks at all…
But when he does wear them, they’re off the wall!
Maybe argyle
Is back in style
Were the other passengers amused or appalled?

I guess that Armitage thinks socks are great:
He said socks for Christmas are nothing to hate!
I hope he’s prepared
If not he’ll be scared
For crazy socks will soon arrive by the crate!

Then everyone who sent socks, will be eager to see…
If he chose to wear theirs, and if he does, they will squee!
Unless he has deep sock drawers
He’ll probably donate scores
Of weird, wild socks to those in need!

Can you imagine, what the downtrodden will think…
When they find socks of all colors, from lime green to pink?
It’s sure to bring smiles
Even the argyles
And that makes me want to celebrate with a drink!

Since I don’t think Richard really needs my help
Stockpiling socks that make my senses yelp
I’ll Spread the Love
Donating socks and gloves
Which I’m convinced that he’d like just as well. =)

 

10 comments

  1. obscura · December 5, 2014

    Reblogged this on Ancient Armitage and commented:
    More sock love…did someone get the Funky Multi-Pack as an early Christmas gift?

    Liked by 2 people

    • jholland · December 5, 2014

      Don’t know what’s funnier- him picking them out himself or him receiving them as a gift and wearing them proudly!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jazzbaby1 · December 5, 2014

    Thanks for the signal boost!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jazzbaby1 · December 5, 2014

    Reblogged this on FunkyBlueDandelion and commented:
    A limerick to SpReAd The Love!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. guylty · December 6, 2014

    Oh fabulous. Love your limerick!

    Like

    • jholland · December 7, 2014

      Those sock choices were begging for a limerick =)

      Like

  5. linda60 · December 7, 2014

    I love your words, and his new colourful socks, esp those that we can see above…..Not sure what’s coming upon him on Christmas… However I’m positive that you then will be here with another remarkable und funny limerick!!

    Like

    • jholland · December 7, 2014

      Lol- those weird argyles seem to be quite popular- lots of compliments on Twitter. All they do for me is tickle my funny bone!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. linnetmoss · December 9, 2014

    The socks are his signature look, I guess! I like them, especially with the black shoes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

