Revelation: Not Overly Preoccupied

Yeah, so I had an epiphany yesterday, which was my first full day back to normal life after a 4-day, 4-night stint at Children’s Hospital with my young love…. I am Not Really All That Preoccupied With Armitage at the moment. Kind of a welcome change after the past seven months.

I can’t say I never thought about Richard Armitage at all while we were there. That would be asking a little much. I did think about trying for a hospital room selfie watching North and South, but I just wasn’t feeling it. You’d think that N&S would be some kind of comforting tonic I could have used, but apparently not. Maybe I didn’t want to have any negative association with it? Hmmm. I saw a new Richard Selfie on Twitter, and mused about the reappearance of The Beard. Is he gearing up for that video game movie, maybe? I saw a couple of posts on Facebook involving cute manips of Armitage characters in cappuccino art, and then realized that there was some kind of controversy there. (Really, people? Kind of hard to care about fandom brouhahas when you’re concerned whether your child’s eye is going to develop a corneal HSV-1 lesion, you’ve listened to a Code Blue called over the paging system at a Children’s Hospital, and you’ve watched a toddler with chemotherapy hair ride past you in a wheel chair.)

exam1

The Young Love was super interested in the workings of this portable ophthalmology mega-scope!

This is not intended to be a downer post. And I’m fairly sure that I’ll be getting back into the swing of the Richarding Life soon. When I get caught up on laundry, housework, patients at work, and most of all, Sleep. (My own bed- how I do love thee. May need to burst forth in Limerick Mode with an Ode to my bed at home!)

I do want to say Thank You So Much, those of you who sent words of encouragement through comments, e-mail, Facebook posts, and forum messages. I had several very low moments, and these kindnesses were so encouraging to me. Chalk up several for the SpReAd the Love Campaign =). For those of you interested, the kiddo’s eye itself is fine- thanks to timely intervention with IV antivirals, it never developed a corneal viral lesion- and the eyelid lesions are now resolving very nicely. He now looks like a child with a scraped up eyelid and a nice shiner. Hopefully nobody seeing us out and about will conclude we punched his lights out. =)

tickets1

Looks like an IMAX Date Night on opening weekend for BOFA.

And, since I was glued to my kid’s hospital bed, my Hubby made a really sweet gesture as well… he stopped by the IMAX on his way home from the hospital last Friday, and messaged me this picture to boost the spirits. Not quite opening night, but close enough to suit me. He knows me well!

I wonder if there is a lot of catching up to do, Richardwise. It’s creeping in at the edges, that preoccupation, but it’s in the background at the moment, and I’m not averse to keeping it there for a while. Right now I’m counting my blessings and grateful to be off the constant BlisterWatch that’s been my obsession for the past 6 days. Life is good.

 

 

21 comments

  1. sparkhouse1 · November 18, 2014

    Gosh, what an ordeal for the family…who would have thought on day one what problem the poor little guys eye was…thank goodness he is on the mend. And how fortunate you have such a thoughtful lovely husband to get you those tickets.

    Like

    • jholland · November 19, 2014

      I know- I’d forgotten all about the fact that they went on sale that day. Hubby knows just the right tricks to cheer everyone up.

      Like

  2. obscura · November 18, 2014

    So glad to hear your little guy is doing better. I think the ebbs and flows of fandom are completely normal…sometimes life just throw curves that require our undivided attention. I’ve found that Armitageworld is always there when I come back, and even better, friends I’ve made here are a steady source of support while I’m gone.

    ps…try not to get too hung up on the laundry – that will always be there too unfortunately! 😉

    Like

    • jholland · November 19, 2014

      Oh, for sure. Laundry never quite finished. But it’s at unprecedentedly daunting levels at this point! I can’t seem to get motivated to tackle that mountain. Think I’ll return to being preoccupied instead. LOL

      Like

  3. Teuchter · November 18, 2014

    Nothing like a visit to Children’s Hospital to wake you up to the realities of life. Makes you realize just how much worse things could be. So thankful to hear your wee guy is doing better. Such a relief for you all. It is good to know that we resume Richarding once the crisis is over. I’ve found comfort in it umpteen times!

    Like

    • jholland · November 19, 2014

      I know. It’s really sobering to go there, and makes my heart hurt for the families that have to be there for long-term problems. Heartbreaking to see any child so ill. It really did get me down, while at the same time making me count my blessings. And yesterday’s terrifically dorktastic tweet just made my day. I can’t stay away from Richard Armitage for long! He’s good medicine. lol

      Like

  4. Perry · November 18, 2014

    Happy and relieved to hear that the worst is over for your little fella and the family. The cats may be wary. You were missed.

    Like

    • jholland · November 19, 2014

      Thank you, Perry. The kittens were actually overjoyed to see the little guy, as a matter of fact. Short memories, those two!

      Like

  5. guylty · November 18, 2014

    RL always has precedence. And even though I would not wish an experience like yours (and of course your little one’s suffering) on anyone, it is sometimes healthy and good to be yanked out of the preoccupation. Puts things into perspective.
    Having said that – good to hear that things are under control and that your son is being looked after and is getting better. Here’s hoping to a speedy recovery. And bonus points to the LSH for cheering you up with an utterly selfless and sweet gesture. A keeper!

    Like

    • jholland · November 19, 2014

      Hubby is a keeper! I’m planning a post about Hubby at some point. I’m happy to report the kiddo went back to school today, and Daddy said he was mobbed with hugs from the other kindergarteners. Warms my heart. (I was a bit worried someone might tease him about his bad eye- it’s still not exactly pretty to look at.)

      Like

      • guylty · November 19, 2014

        I look forward to your Hubby post – ever since you posted that selfie of him where he posed as Proctor, I have been thinking that he must be a great guy!
        Glad to hear that your little ‘un is already back at kindergarden. It always amazed me how quickly the children recuperated, and when distracted by playing, they’d be as happy as Larry and you could not tell that they had been really sick just a minute prior to that…

        Like

        • jholland · November 19, 2014

          That’s a new phrase for me. Who is Larry and why’s he happy? =)

          Like

        • guylty · November 19, 2014

          Oh really? Not an expression used in the US? Means “happy as can be”

          Like

        • Teuchter · November 19, 2014

          Certainly a familiar phrase in Canada – or did I learn it in the UK? Hard to say but it’s something we often say. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  6. Sue · November 18, 2014

    JH, so happy to hear your little guy is doing better and there was no permanent damage. As others have said, fandom is one thing, and a nice diversion, but family is real! Hugs to all!
    Btw; you didn’t miss too much…..RA made a couple of movies, something about a sleepwalking dragon??? 😉

    Like

    • jholland · November 19, 2014

      Thanks, Sue! A sleepwalking dragon. How about that! LOL

      Like

  7. Servetus · November 18, 2014

    Glad son is better and hubs is such a hero!
    I’ve experienced it both ways — when my mother was dying, the blog was a virtual emotional life raft. Right now, however, it’s taken a different form for me, I suppose because there’s just time when I can’t justify looking, no matter what. I figure if it ever becomes an obligation, that’s time to stop …

    Like

    • jholland · November 19, 2014

      I’m glad, too. Huge burden off my shoulders. I guess where I am right now with this blog is that I enjoy writing, sharing, interacting with friends, but had a few days where I didn’t feel motivated to do anything Richard-related… much as he fascinates me when life is on an even keel, it was only an apathetic and superficial interest I experienced while at that hospital. I don’t examine it too deeply at this point. I can’t predict how I might react (blog-wise) if my mom was ill- it’s all too new… might be I used the blog as a way to stay afloat, might be I couldn’t find motivation to continue. I’m certainly glad to be emerging from my apathy now. I missed some good stuff. =) Not sure I understand what you mean by can’t justify looking.

      Like

      • Servetus · November 19, 2014

        Pretty much 8-12 and 1-4. I can think of circumstances under which I’d peek in to the blog/Armitageworld during those hours but they would be extremely unusual.

        Like

  8. Herba · November 19, 2014

    So good to hear that the little one is doing better!!!
    And your hubby is really cute ❤

    Like

    • jholland · November 19, 2014

      Kiddo’s been rather exhausting. All that renewed energy! But it’s a relief to see him so full of himself. =) And I’m pretty fond of Hubby. He spoils me rotten. =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

