Worried. That is All.

10378134_10204042793260368_396560939084605628_n

My young love. He’s six.

This week I’ve been preoccupied with RL. I’m usually a truly laid-back kind of a mom, but my little guy has me really worried. Look at those baby blues of his… I would give anything to see his right eye clear and open today. My young love woke up Monday morning with scleral injection, conjunctivitis and mildly swollen eyelids on the right eye. Thinking pink eye, we kept him home from school and made a doctor’s appointment. He was started on oral and topical meds 2 days ago, but this morning it was worse than ever, sealed shut with goop, severely swollen, and developing tiny blisters over the eyelid. I’d think allergic reaction to topical med, except we were told to pre-emptively treat both eyes, and the other eye shows no allergic reaction. I have another appointment this afternoon. He’s breaking my heart, trying to be brave, but he’s in so much pain even the lightest touch causes floods of tears. Then there’s the oral antibiotic- upsetting his stomach so much that last night he puked his bed and both kittens! Maybe some day I’ll look back and laugh at the image of those kittens, ears flat, flicking their paws trying to dislodge the chunky nastiness that they were unfortunate enough to be in the line of fire for. What a scene. Bath for three, coming right up. Then I have to travel out of town tomorrow for a conference, but I’m not sure if Daddy can handle the eye cleaning and medicating job. Hubby is such a softie, and it hurts the young love to try to remove that gunk. It has to be done, but will Daddy be up to the task? Ahhhh!

22 comments

  1. Herba · November 12, 2014

    What a cute little lad!
    I hope he will be okay soon!!!

    Like

    • jholland · November 12, 2014

      We think he’s pretty cute! Normally such a funny guy, I can’t stand to see him miserable and fighting tears… breaks my heart. Just don’t know what to do with myself. I want the appointment to be Right Now! =)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Servetus · November 12, 2014

    He’s lucky mama is so tough! Seriously, I hope he feels better soon.

    Like

    • jholland · November 12, 2014

      Mama is trying. He ended up admitted to Children’s Hospital for some IV medications. Not great fun, but hopefully will do better than the oral and topical route.

      Like

      • SH · November 13, 2014

        Oh my, I hope he is doing better today…. is he still in the hospital? I hope the IV and extra TLC have helped by now!! Thoughts and prayers for all of you.

        Like

        • jholland · November 13, 2014

          Seems to have helped a bit. Stopped new blisters so far. Turns out it’s a cold sore eruption… on eyelid! It’s one of the ugliest lesions I’ve seen. And I see my share of lesions!

          Like

        • Servetus · November 14, 2014

          Who knew that could even happen? Those viruses are getting uppity.

          Liked by 1 person

        • SH · November 13, 2014

          Poor little guy 😦 Nasty thing for him to have to deal with… glad nothing new has started, hope he turns the corner soon & feels lots better fast.

          Like

  3. sparkhouse1 · November 12, 2014

    Awww, what a cutie. Dad will do what he has to….don’t worry. I hope your little guy feels better soon.

    Like

    • jholland · November 12, 2014

      Cancelled the trip after doc decided to admit him… I think you’re right… but we may not ever find out if Daddy was up to the task!

      Like

  4. richardtreehouse · November 12, 2014

    I hope they figure it out quickly and he feels better. It’s worse when it’s your child then when it is yourself, eh?

    Like

  5. guylty · November 13, 2014

    Hope he is getting better today? I can see how nervewrecking it is for you to be going away now. But hey, trust your hubs. In fact I think dads ought to be more involved in the really tricky business of looking after sick kids. They grow with the responsibility 😉
    Have a great trip.

    Like

    • jholland · November 13, 2014

      I ended up staying with him. He had to be hospitalized. Poor guy. Took 9 attempts to get IV catheter started… very scary when you’re all of six years old! I can tell you it was a good thing Hubby was not in the room. I honestly think he might have passed out from the stress of a hysterical child. =(

      Like

      • Servetus · November 14, 2014

        I’d be with your husband — I hate watching that stuff, although I will if it is required for me to hold a hand or something. Saw the pix on FB, hope everything is okay.

        Like

  6. Helen · November 13, 2014

    Thinking positive thoughts that things improve with the iv antibiotics! Look after yourself too!

    Like

    • jholland · November 13, 2014

      Too soon to see much improvement, but at least no further progression, and he’s back to saying jokes so maybe feels a bit better. Terrible jokes. Worse than RA. Lol

      Liked by 1 person

  7. linnetmoss · November 13, 2014

    Hope he’s on the mend now. Such a sweet picture 🙂 But I had to laugh about the poor kittens.

    Like

    • jholland · November 13, 2014

      Wishing I’d had the presence of mind to get a pic. Pretty pathetic pair of kitties!

      Like

  8. obscura · November 13, 2014

    Oh man! I hope that he is doing better – there is nothing worse than a sick child…especially a little one! (It seems weird eye infections are in season…this is the second report of a really pernicious eye infection I’ve heard in the past couple of weeks.) Sending healing mojo to your little man and to you too!

    Like

    • jholland · November 13, 2014

      Pernicious… perfect word for this one. Very worrisome. Hope other poor soul is doing better. After 24 hours in hospital, this seems to be turning the corner… I hope it’s not just wishful thinking… resorted to comparing photos taken every 6-8 hours seems to be the best way to be objective. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Trichotillomania: My Lashless Love | preoccupiedwitharmitage

Leave a Reply

