Crucible Wrangling: in Which Mom Learns the Scary Truth…

I was scanning through my text messages with Mom looking for a recipe this morning, and came across this lovely conversation, which took place in the early planning stages of our London trip. It gave me a chuckle. This is the first time Mom realized the depth of my RAffliction…

 

 

RA-addiction

It should be noted that the seats we had that Thursday were the front row seats in front of the wash basin, which was intentional on my part. I didn’t mention that detail to her when I pitched the idea of a Thursday evening attendance, although she called me on it later. I suppose that means she was awake enough during the opening of Act 2 to notice John Proctor with his shirt off 2 feet from her face. She timed her dozing really well that evening. =)

10 comments

  1. June · October 11, 2014

    Loved this! You had your mum, I had the voice in my head 🙂

    Like

  2. Helen · October 12, 2014

    😀 priceless! Glad she didn’t snooze through the wash basin 😉

    I take it she wasn’t converted though?

    Like

    • jholland · October 12, 2014

      She was and she wasn’t. For my 3rd Crucible, the Weds matinee, we split up and she had tickets to a different play. As we walked past the Old Vic, she said wistfully that she would have liked to see The Crucible one more time. So, as far as the play, she was converted. But as to RA, she maintains that he is exceedingly talented, but “average” in looks. (???? To each her own.) Lol

      Like

  3. Helen · October 12, 2014

    LOL! Average… No, don’t think so… 😉 well at least she saw it twice. I think that’s quite impressive for someone who thinks he’s average 😉

    Like

    • jholland · October 12, 2014

      Isn’t it odd? I thought maybe it was the beard, though she’s seen N&S… so I showed her some images of beardless hotness. Nope… still “average” in her words. I may have questioned her need for corrective eyewear at that point =)

      Like

  4. Servetus · October 12, 2014

    This is exactly the kind of conversation I’d have had with my mom — maybe she’d have done twice but she’d have put her foot down after that …

    Like

    • jholland · October 12, 2014

      I was very relieved that Mom did enjoy it so much (sleeping in the front row that first night notwithstanding). She did say that if The Crucible came to Broadway, she’d travel to see it again, and take my stepdad along. That’s a major compliment from her, because she is the type that pretty much never sees anything more than once. I was absolutely of the mind that I’d have liked to have been at every performance, but having her along was super special to me. We’ve never had a mother-daughter trip. I wouldn’t trade that.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. billiepops · October 16, 2014

    Oh, Well Done. I can’t even get my best friend to see it in the cinema. She refuses to share even one inch of my addiction. It’s very disappointing!

    Like

    • jholland · October 16, 2014

      That is truly tragic. Is she just not into theatre at all? I mean, yeah we’re in a class of our own… but even non-addicts can and do appreciate that level of performance, from the entire ensemble! lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

